Filezilla and Malware

Come here to discuss FileZilla and FTP in general

Moderator: Project members

ZXRBMB
500 Command not understood

Filezilla and Malware

#1 Post by ZXRBMB » 2015-06-21 01:33

Hello,

I am a systems administrator and organization lead with experience in software licensing and have read many EULAs and understand their provisions. I also have information security experience.

We (I can't officially name my organization at this time) find Sourceforge and its current path to be very much like that of download.com where the site has become very top-heavy where commercial interests have outstripped the interests of the Internet community and puts users at unnecessary risk. Especially those users who do not have legal experience and may not completely understand provisions of EULAs and may not even speak English as a first language. This has created a toxic environment where users are left walking a minefield of contract terms and "offers" that are never in their favour.

These commercial interests are the same interests that would willingly violate the GPL should it further their goals. These interests do not have Filezilla, its creators or its users in mind. These are the same interests that want the Internet to be nothing but billboards and other forms of advertisement. These interests in fact want a closed Internet where only commercial organizations may participate in that publishing process because it means that they can more easily gather marketing data on users, including of their most intimate of secrets. They don't like the prospect that their advertisements may not be seen because users can go to a website without them; they think that's stealing from them. They don't like the prospect of non-companies publishing content because it means their own content and brands become less known.