Remote access

Come here to discuss FileZilla and FTP in general

Moderator: Project members

Post Reply
Message
Author
bromelain
504 Command not implemented
Posts: 6
Joined: 2019-11-17 02:04
First name: Bob
Last name: Silverstein

Remote access

#1 Post by bromelain » 2019-11-17 02:12

I am running FileZilla and storing files on my machine. I want to transfer to another site which requires my address. I do not have a domain name. How else can I identify my machine?

User avatar
botg
Site Admin
Posts: 32472
Joined: 2004-02-23 20:49
First name: Tim
Last name: Kosse
Contact:

Re: Remote access

#2 Post by botg » 2019-11-17 08:47

By IP address of course.

bromelain
504 Command not implemented
Posts: 6
Joined: 2019-11-17 02:04
First name: Bob
Last name: Silverstein

Re: Remote access

#3 Post by bromelain » 2019-11-17 12:41

I have tried ftp://n.n.n.n and http://n.n.n.n but cannot connect. Those are the external and internal IP addresses. Server and client appear to be running properly. Any ideas?

User avatar
boco
Contributor
Posts: 24786
Joined: 2006-05-01 03:28
Location: Germany

Re: Remote access

#4 Post by boco » 2019-11-17 16:46

For being able to access your server over the Internet, you need to configure it according to the Network Configuration Guide. Did you do that, already?
### BEGIN SIGNATURE BLOCK ###
No support requests per PM! You will NOT get any reply!!!
FTP connection problems? Do yourself a favor and read Network Configuration.
All FileZilla products fully support IPv6. http://worldipv6launch.org
### END SIGNATURE BLOCK ###

bromelain
504 Command not implemented
Posts: 6
Joined: 2019-11-17 02:04
First name: Bob
Last name: Silverstein

Re: Remote access

#5 Post by bromelain » 2019-11-18 03:31

1. I configured both according to that document.
2. As I stated, both server and client load without error.
3. I am not asking for help setting up either server or client since they are running properly.
4. Where does the document say how to address the ftp site?

User avatar
boco
Contributor
Posts: 24786
Joined: 2006-05-01 03:28
Location: Germany

Re: Remote access

#6 Post by boco » 2019-11-18 04:42

Configuring the FTP server itself is not enough. Rather, I referred to the port forwarding in the router (telling the router where to forward the traffic to if it arrives at the public socket (socket = specific IP+port pair, e. g. 192.0.2.1:21 or [2001:db8::1]:21).

FTP, like other IP protocols, is accessed by the public IP and the server listening port (default 21 or 990). The router must forward that request to the internal server IP. The internal server's firewall must let the traffic pass. Then, the server will answer.

Additional note: The public IPv4 will most probably not work while being in the same LAN as the server. Testing a server config that way is unreliable. Please use our testing facility, https://ftptest.net.
### BEGIN SIGNATURE BLOCK ###
No support requests per PM! You will NOT get any reply!!!
FTP connection problems? Do yourself a favor and read Network Configuration.
All FileZilla products fully support IPv6. http://worldipv6launch.org
### END SIGNATURE BLOCK ###

bromelain
504 Command not implemented
Posts: 6
Joined: 2019-11-17 02:04
First name: Bob
Last name: Silverstein

Re: Remote access

#7 Post by bromelain » 2019-11-18 14:52

Boco, thanks for the help. The ftptest was invaluable. The problem is not the router firewall but the Windows 10 one. If I disable the Windows firewall, I get to the server. Conversely, when the firewall is on, I get timed out. I tested various firewall settings but have yet to find the one that will let me in. Also, I cannot get to the server from a browser (EDGE) with the address ftp://73.44.96.110. Times out. On Chrome, I get a login window that says "Your connection to this site is not private."


I attached the ftptest report.
FTPtest.txt
(2.42 KiB) Downloaded 23 times
Note only one warning about no IPv6. The certificates are also redacted.

Any ideas?

User avatar
boco
Contributor
Posts: 24786
Joined: 2006-05-01 03:28
Location: Germany

Re: Remote access

#8 Post by boco » 2019-11-18 17:28

Browsers are pathetic FTP clients. They do only support the most basic, unsecured kind of FTP, and browser vendors are in the process of removing FTP support completely. Better using a dedicated FTP client such as FileZilla.

As far as the Windows Firewall is concerned, check that you are modifying the correct profile (changing the wrong profile is one of the most common errors being made). There is a Public, a Private, and possibly a Domain profile.
Firewall with Advanced Security is the best way to deal with the Firewall setup, much more detailed.

As far as the warning goes, it can be ignored when entering an IPv4 directly. The place you are testing from supports IPv6, though. You might have success accessing the server by its IPv6, too. Using a dynamic DNS service like no-ip.org will provide you with a static URL.


Public FTP server: For serving public content (no login required), create an FTP account with name Anonymous that requires no password.
### BEGIN SIGNATURE BLOCK ###
No support requests per PM! You will NOT get any reply!!!
FTP connection problems? Do yourself a favor and read Network Configuration.
All FileZilla products fully support IPv6. http://worldipv6launch.org
### END SIGNATURE BLOCK ###

bromelain
504 Command not implemented
Posts: 6
Joined: 2019-11-17 02:04
First name: Bob
Last name: Silverstein

Re: Remote access

#9 Post by bromelain » 2019-11-18 20:26

I finally got this to work. A second site was able to access my ftp files with FileZilla. However, I have a new problem on the host machine. I cannot run FileZilla server interface even after reinstalling and rebooting. Furthermore, I cannot connect from another machine at my site. Task manager shows the server is running. Any ideas?

Update. The server is runner. Can connect from another machine at my site. However, cannot not connect to the directory. The FileZilla server interface still does not run.

User avatar
botg
Site Admin
Posts: 32472
Joined: 2004-02-23 20:49
First name: Tim
Last name: Kosse
Contact:

Re: Remote access

#10 Post by botg » 2019-11-19 09:36

Unless you have enable remote administration you need to connect the administration interface through localhost.

bromelain
504 Command not implemented
Posts: 6
Joined: 2019-11-17 02:04
First name: Bob
Last name: Silverstein

Re: Remote access

#11 Post by bromelain » 2019-11-19 17:09

Regarding the problem of the server not running, I found the answer elsewhere in the forum. It started minimized. Unclicked that and no more problem.

Since all my original issues are now solved, we can end this discussion. I will post a new one about the remaining 425 can't open data connection issue.

User avatar
boco
Contributor
Posts: 24786
Joined: 2006-05-01 03:28
Location: Germany

Re: Remote access

#12 Post by boco » 2019-11-19 18:45

I will post a new one about the remaining 425 can't open data connection issue.
No need to. Just read and follow the Network Configuration Guide.
### BEGIN SIGNATURE BLOCK ###
No support requests per PM! You will NOT get any reply!!!
FTP connection problems? Do yourself a favor and read Network Configuration.
All FileZilla products fully support IPv6. http://worldipv6launch.org
### END SIGNATURE BLOCK ###

Post Reply