Cached settings?

Come here to discuss FileZilla and FTP in general

Moderator: Project members

Post Reply
Message
Author
JohnMiller92
500 Command not understood
Posts: 1
Joined: 2020-01-08 23:52
First name: John
Last name: Miller

Cached settings?

#1 Post by JohnMiller92 » 2020-01-08 23:58

Been using FileZilla for over a decade now. I just stumbled upon this issue where the I could change the password to anything, and it would still authenticate.

An example:
Image

I initially thought my settings in sshd_config were screwy. That took me on a wild adventure on SO trying to find answers. I finally changed the host field to the IP and all is well. In all my years I've never ran into this before lol. Been doing it the same exact way. I have no idea what happened
:lol:

User avatar
boco
Contributor
Posts: 24874
Joined: 2006-05-01 03:28
Location: Germany

Re: Cached settings?

#2 Post by boco » 2020-01-09 03:46

Please note that FileZilla can store passwords, if desired. Furthermore, it can cache entered passwords for the session (means they are abandoned upon closing FileZilla).

However, these are only the passwords FileZilla SENDS to the server. If the server actually authenticates using another password, it's a configuration issue with the SFTP server, entirely.
Maybe you are using other ways of authentication (e. g. public key auth)? Or, you have cached credentials in PuTTY's Pageant tool, which FileZilla automatically uses if present.
### BEGIN SIGNATURE BLOCK ###
No support requests per PM! You will NOT get any reply!!!
FTP connection problems? Do yourself a favor and read Network Configuration.
All FileZilla products fully support IPv6. http://worldipv6launch.org
### END SIGNATURE BLOCK ###

Post Reply