Really cloning a folder

Come here to discuss FileZilla and FTP in general

Moderator: Project members

Post Reply
Message
Author
Paxel
500 Command not understood
Posts: 2
Joined: 2020-06-15 07:48
First name: Patrick
Last name: Huguet

Really cloning a folder

#1 Post by Paxel » 2020-06-15 08:05

Hello,
I would like to know if it is possible to REALLY clone a local folder to a remote one.

Explanation:
I know it's possible to send (or update) files on a remote, based on a local folder.
But what if I delete local files on the local side?
FZ won't suppress them on the remote.
So they will remain unchanged on the remote unless I remove them manually.
My problem is that my local reference folder is managed with tools so it's not obvious and it's time consuming to do it manually.

How can I set/tune FZ so it keeps the remote folder (and subfolders) identical to the reference (local folder and sub folders) ?
and especially, in a way that it removes files and folders in the remote that are no longer on the local?


Thank in advance.
Paxel

User avatar
boco
Contributor
Posts: 25189
Joined: 2006-05-01 03:28
Location: Germany

Re: Really cloning a folder

#2 Post by boco » 2020-06-15 14:11

You can't. Automatic synchronization is not implemented. There is a half-automatic sync feature (directory comparison) that will show your what's different or missing. However, the actual transfers and delete actions need to be done manually.

For your special task, you might better use special backup/sync software which can sync over FTP.
### BEGIN SIGNATURE BLOCK ###
No support requests per PM! You will NOT get any reply!!!
FTP connection problems? Do yourself a favor and read Network Configuration.
FileZilla connection test: https://filezilla-project.org/conntest.php
### END SIGNATURE BLOCK ###

Paxel
500 Command not understood
Posts: 2
Joined: 2020-06-15 07:48
First name: Patrick
Last name: Huguet

Re: Really cloning a folder

#3 Post by Paxel » 2020-06-15 17:33

Thank you, I feared such an answer.

Post Reply