Making PHP work

Post all HTML related questions here. No support.

Moderator: Project members

Post Reply
Message
Author
FileZilla9
500 Command not understood
Posts: 2
Joined: 2011-05-13 09:46
First name: Karin
Last name: de Vries

Making PHP work

#1 Post by FileZilla9 » 2011-08-09 15:50

I want to create my own website. I have a page loaded by <some hoster>. They say php is running on their server.
When I download my program the php doesn't work. What can that be? The php in my script looks like this:

Code: Select all

<?php
	  if (1) 
	{ 
	  echo ”true”;
	} 
	  else 
	{	 
	  echo “false”; 
	}
php?>
What can be the problem?

User avatar
boco
Contributor
Posts: 26935
Joined: 2006-05-01 03:28
Location: Germany

Re: Making PHP work

#2 Post by boco » 2011-08-10 00:21

I took the genuine code you posted and put it on my local test server. It works and displays "true". So either the server expects UNIX line endings and you didn't satisfy that requirement, or there are issues with the server's PHP implementation.
testphpgencode.PNG
testphpgencode.PNG (70.86 KiB) Viewed 4158 times
No support requests over PM! You will NOT get any reply!!!
FTP connection problems? Please read Network Configuration.
FileZilla connection test: https://filezilla-project.org/conntest.php
FileZilla Pro support: https://customerforum.fileZilla-project.org

Meagan
500 Command not understood
Posts: 3
Joined: 2011-11-23 15:48
First name: Meagan
Last name: Jones

Re: Making PHP work

#3 Post by Meagan » 2011-11-27 01:20

Thank you very much for this advice. I am creating a human resource management website, and ran into the very same issue. I really need to get this project off of the ground, so I hope that this advice helps me to solve this problem. The deadline is coming very quickly, and I still have to work all of the bugs out and make sure everything is operating properly.

Post Reply