Setting up 301 redirect - do I need to set up a root folder

Post all HTML related questions here. No support.

Moderator: Project members

Post Reply
Message
Author
rondonn
500 Command not understood
Posts: 4
Joined: 2011-12-22 14:40

Setting up 301 redirect - do I need to set up a root folder

#1 Post by rondonn » 2013-06-29 14:56

I want to rename one of my web pages so I need to set up a 301 redirect.

Currently, I just drag and drop individual files (my web pages) on the right and I did set up a file called .htaccess for the 301 redirect, but it does not work.

These are all of the folders on the right as they appear now:
_db_backups
aspnet_client
stats

And these are the files as they appear now:
gdform.asp
google longnumber.htm
welcome
.htaccess
index.htm
chapter-twenty.htm
and my other pages listed as individual files

I think I set up the 301 redirect properly, but I suspect that the .htaccess needs to be in a folder with the rest of my website. If so, how do I set up that folder and what do I name that folder?

User avatar
boco
Contributor
Posts: 24915
Joined: 2006-05-01 03:28
Location: Germany

Re: Setting up 301 redirect - do I need to set up a root fol

#2 Post by boco » 2013-06-29 15:46

First, are you sure your hoster does support .htaccess files? Not all do.
### BEGIN SIGNATURE BLOCK ###
No support requests per PM! You will NOT get any reply!!!
FTP connection problems? Do yourself a favor and read Network Configuration.
All FileZilla products fully support IPv6. http://worldipv6launch.org
### END SIGNATURE BLOCK ###

rondonn
500 Command not understood
Posts: 4
Joined: 2011-12-22 14:40

Re: Setting up 301 redirect - do I need to set up a root fol

#3 Post by rondonn » 2013-06-29 16:32

Reply:

GODADDY is my host.

Thanks.

User avatar
boco
Contributor
Posts: 24915
Joined: 2006-05-01 03:28
Location: Germany

Re: Setting up 301 redirect - do I need to set up a root fol

#4 Post by boco » 2013-06-29 16:47

We are not GoDaddy support, we can't tell you if GoDaddy supports .htaccess.
### BEGIN SIGNATURE BLOCK ###
No support requests per PM! You will NOT get any reply!!!
FTP connection problems? Do yourself a favor and read Network Configuration.
All FileZilla products fully support IPv6. http://worldipv6launch.org
### END SIGNATURE BLOCK ###

rondonn
500 Command not understood
Posts: 4
Joined: 2011-12-22 14:40

Re: Setting up 301 redirect - do I need to set up a root fol

#5 Post by rondonn » 2013-06-29 17:11

This is what GODADDY says:

".htaccess works on our Linux servers."


The following is what I put in the .htaccess :

redirect 301 /matthew-5-14.htm

http://example.org/matthew-5-14-meaning.htm

User avatar
boco
Contributor
Posts: 24915
Joined: 2006-05-01 03:28
Location: Germany

Re: Setting up 301 redirect - do I need to set up a root fol

#6 Post by boco » 2013-06-30 20:11

This is what GODADDY says:

".htaccess works on our Linux servers."
And you are on Linux hosting?

I cannot help with .htaccess itself. We do only deal with FTP here.
### BEGIN SIGNATURE BLOCK ###
No support requests per PM! You will NOT get any reply!!!
FTP connection problems? Do yourself a favor and read Network Configuration.
All FileZilla products fully support IPv6. http://worldipv6launch.org
### END SIGNATURE BLOCK ###

Post Reply