Forgot where to drag from and to the server

Post all HTML related questions here. No support.

Moderator: Project members

Post Reply
Message
Author
CruisingManiac
504 Command not implemented
Posts: 6
Joined: 2014-06-03 21:40
First name: Pat

Forgot where to drag from and to the server

#1 Post by CruisingManiac » 2015-11-10 00:23

It has been so long since I uploaded with file zilla that I can't remember what to drag from file zilla to my website on server. My website is all messed up so I am doing something wrong

Thanks,
Pat :(

User avatar
boco
Contributor
Posts: 24654
Joined: 2006-05-01 03:28
Location: Germany

Re: Forgot where to drag from and to the server

#2 Post by boco » 2015-11-10 13:53

That's a question we can't answer, as every website structure is different. As a general advice: Drag the website files including subdirectories, but DON'T drag the whole directory the website files are in, as that would recreate the directory on the server.
### BEGIN SIGNATURE BLOCK ###
No support requests per PM! You will NOT get any reply!!!
FTP connection problems? Do yourself a favor and read Network Configuration.
All FileZilla products fully support IPv6. http://worldipv6launch.org
### END SIGNATURE BLOCK ###

CruisingManiac
504 Command not implemented
Posts: 6
Joined: 2014-06-03 21:40
First name: Pat

Re: Forgot where to drag from and to the server

#3 Post by CruisingManiac » 2015-11-11 19:16

boco wrote:That's a question we can't answer, as every website structure is different. As a general advice: Drag the website files including subdirectories, but DON'T drag the whole directory the website files are in, as that would recreate the directory on the server.
I'll rephrase as I wasn't very clear.

Say I have uploaded and everything is great.....then I make changes to many pages and include the index page....do I drag the index to public_html or index or?

Or if I just changed the index page (home page) do I drag index to index? So confused.

User avatar
boco
Contributor
Posts: 24654
Joined: 2006-05-01 03:28
Location: Germany

Re: Forgot where to drag from and to the server

#4 Post by boco » 2015-11-11 21:19

You do upload files exactly as you did the times before. If you do it correctly, the new files will overwrite the old ones. Then, clear the Browser cache and check.
### BEGIN SIGNATURE BLOCK ###
No support requests per PM! You will NOT get any reply!!!
FTP connection problems? Do yourself a favor and read Network Configuration.
All FileZilla products fully support IPv6. http://worldipv6launch.org
### END SIGNATURE BLOCK ###

Post Reply