Transferring dev site

Post all HTML related questions here. No support.

Moderator: Project members

Post Reply
Message
Author
jnmcabee
500 Command not understood
Posts: 1
Joined: 2015-11-24 14:56
First name: Jordan
Last name: McAbee

Transferring dev site

#1 Post by jnmcabee » 2015-11-24 14:59

This may be a dumb question, but currently I have my live site (WordPress), and then a development site at [example.com]/redesign

If I want to make the development site live, would I just have to replace all of the WordPress in the root folder, or what other steps are necessary? :?

Thanks

User avatar
boco
Contributor
Posts: 24644
Joined: 2006-05-01 03:28
Location: Germany

Re: Transferring dev site

#2 Post by boco » 2015-12-11 01:28

Should be sufficient to replace the files. Since the database is not a file on the webserver, it should be found from every location.
### BEGIN SIGNATURE BLOCK ###
No support requests per PM! You will NOT get any reply!!!
FTP connection problems? Do yourself a favor and read Network Configuration.
All FileZilla products fully support IPv6. http://worldipv6launch.org
### END SIGNATURE BLOCK ###

GotZilla
500 Syntax error
Posts: 12
Joined: 2015-12-31 14:39

Re: Transferring dev site

#3 Post by GotZilla » 2016-01-20 18:43

And make sure they use the same database.

Oh don't forget to backup! :D

Post Reply