Confused newbie - path directory not linking index to everything else

Post all HTML related questions here. No support.

Moderator: Project members

beellllaa
500 Command not understood
First name: Bella
Last name: Wella

Confused newbie - path directory not linking index to everything else

#1 Post by beellllaa » 2018-03-02 23:38

Hi everyone !

I'm new to filezilla and hosting. I have my index.html in my www folder and I put like everything else in a folder called "SITE" that has many other folders for whatever. I can't seem to get the path right in my index to relink back into this site folder.

As a simple(?) example,
I have an icon for the tab that I want and it's an .svg file. The path on my local is this "Desktop/SITE/assets/img/icon.svg" So since my index is in the SITE folder my code looks like this:
<link rel="icon" type="image/svg+xml" href="assets/img/icon.svg">

When I take my index out of the SITE folder, and I put it in the www, obviously it loses the connection. So I've tried the following options:
<link rel="icon" type="image/svg+xml" href="../assets/img/icon.svg">
<link rel="icon" type="image/svg+xml" href="www/SITE/assets/img/icon.svg">
<link rel="icon" type="image/svg+xml" href="../SITE/assets/img/icon.svg">

Please help with my potentially dumb question ):

How can I reconnect this SITE folder back to my index if my index can't be inside the SITE folder?

Thank you in advance !!

boco
Contributor

Re: Confused newbie - path directory not linking index to everything else

#2 Post by boco » 2018-03-03 02:27

Please don't cross-post (other post deleted). Also, moved, since it hasn't anything to do with FTP.