Is it FZ, my FTP Server, or my Firewall?!?

Need help with FileZilla Client? Something does not work as expected? In this forum you may find an answer.

Moderator: Project members

Post Reply
Message
Author
TheAngryPenguin
226 Transfer OK
Posts: 324
Joined: 2004-03-08 18:40

Is it FZ, my FTP Server, or my Firewall?!?

#1 Post by TheAngryPenguin » 2004-04-07 02:21

-----BEGIN SOMEWHAT RELATED QUESTION-----
I've recently moved from Cable to DSL. My old Cable ISP blocked all incoming well-known ports as a "security feature", however my current DSL connection does not. When using the Cable ISP, I confirgured my firewall to forward port 2121/tcp to port 21/tcp of the FTP Server on my internal network . All was well with anyone who was permitted to connect.

Now that I am on DSL, it seems that some people, especially those who use Linksys routers, cannot get a directory listing from my FTP server, although they can sucessfully connect. I have no problems from my connection @work (non-Linksys) whatsoever. So, I edited the port forwarding rule from 2121/tcp to 21/tcp and all is well for clients behind Linksys routers. Is this an issue specific to Linksys, my DSL connection, or something else? It doesn't make much sense to me.
-----END SOMEWHAT RELATED QUESTION-----


When a FZ client connects to my FTP server running on port 21, Snort logs the following IDS events:

Code: Select all

Date:	04/06 13:01:13 	Name:	FTP command overflow attempt
Priority:	3 	Type:	Generic Protocol Command Decode
IP info: 	<ftp.client>:18892 -> <ftp.server>:21
References:	1

Date:	04/06 13:01:24 	Name:	FTP wu-ftp bad file completion attempt [
Priority:	2 	Type:	Misc Attack
IP info: 	<ftp.client>:18892 -> <ftp.server>:21
References:	1 2 3

Date:	04/06 13:01:32 	Name:	FTP wu-ftp bad file completion attempt {
Priority:	2 	Type:	Misc Attack
IP info: 	<ftp.client>:18892 -> <ftp.server>:21
References:	1 2 3
Is this an undesired effect of using the Keep Alive system, or possibily from configuring FZ to use multiple connections?

-TheAngryPenguin

fillide
500 Syntax error
Posts: 16
Joined: 2004-03-01 00:44
Location: France
Contact:

#2 Post by fillide » 2004-04-07 12:29

Did you try to activate the "passive mode" in the FZ client behind the router ?

TheAngryPenguin
226 Transfer OK
Posts: 324
Joined: 2004-03-08 18:40

#3 Post by TheAngryPenguin » 2004-04-07 13:14

fillide wrote:Did you try to activate the "passive mode" in the FZ client behind the router ?
Sure did, at least I instructed the persons using the FZ client behind their Linksys routers to put FZ into passive mode -- same thing -- they'd connect, but couldn't get a directory listing.

-TheAngryPenguin

Post Reply