how can I make 2 remote tabs pointing to SAME remote server

Need help with FileZilla Client? Something does not work as expected? In this forum you may find an answer.

Moderator: Project members

Post Reply
Message
Author
greggustin
503 Bad sequence of commands
Posts: 21
Joined: 2009-09-03 14:02
First name: greg
Last name: gustin

how can I make 2 remote tabs pointing to SAME remote server

#1 Post by greggustin » 2010-02-25 17:11

I need to move files between different folders on same remote server
this DOES work in FileZIlla -
BUT often times - I cannot see both folders at same time in remote tab
(yes- there are MANY MANY folders and sub folders)
how can I do this?

User avatar
boco
Contributor
Posts: 24541
Joined: 2006-05-01 03:28
Location: Germany

Re: how can I make 2 remote tabs pointing to SAME remote server

#2 Post by boco » 2010-02-25 19:16

That won't work. Drag & Drop on the server only works from the same connection. Unfortunately, once you got the file on the cursor, the list won't scroll anymore. :(
### BEGIN SIGNATURE BLOCK ###
No support requests per PM! You will NOT get any reply!!!
FTP connection problems? Do yourself a favor and read Network Configuration.
All FileZilla products fully support IPv6. http://worldipv6launch.org
### END SIGNATURE BLOCK ###

greggustin
503 Bad sequence of commands
Posts: 21
Joined: 2009-09-03 14:02
First name: greg
Last name: gustin

Re: how can I make 2 remote tabs pointing to SAME remote server

#3 Post by greggustin » 2010-02-25 20:24

boco wrote:That won't work. Drag & Drop on the server only works from the same connection. Unfortunately, once you got the file on the cursor, the list won't scroll anymore. :(
hmm . . . I DO want just ONE connection
but instead of local and remote tabs
I want 2 remote tabs (to simply move files to different folders)
. . . unless you are saying that would be 2 connections??

if yes, then are there any other solutions to move files from one folder to another on same server
without DL first?? (talking about 20 gb)

ty

User avatar
boco
Contributor
Posts: 24541
Joined: 2006-05-01 03:28
Location: Germany

Re: how can I make 2 remote tabs pointing to SAME remote server

#4 Post by boco » 2010-02-26 00:15

hmm . . . I DO want just ONE connection
but instead of local and remote tabs
I want 2 remote tabs (to simply move files to different folders)
That's not possible.
if yes, then are there any other solutions to move files from one folder to another on same server
without DL first?? (talking about 20 gb)
Not with FTP/FileZilla. There's not even a Cut - Paste feature, only Drag&Drop. If you have the remote directory tree displayed, you could use that:
  • Expand (+) and scroll the directory tree to the target directory. Don't click on it or FileZilla will change to that directory.
  • Now drag the source objects from the normal file list to the target directory into the directory tree.
### BEGIN SIGNATURE BLOCK ###
No support requests per PM! You will NOT get any reply!!!
FTP connection problems? Do yourself a favor and read Network Configuration.
All FileZilla products fully support IPv6. http://worldipv6launch.org
### END SIGNATURE BLOCK ###

greggustin
503 Bad sequence of commands
Posts: 21
Joined: 2009-09-03 14:02
First name: greg
Last name: gustin

Re: how can I make 2 remote tabs pointing to SAME remote server

#5 Post by greggustin » 2010-02-27 17:29

found a solution
I knew about the dag and drop
but my file listing was so long - I could not do it that way
(once a file was clicked to move, the file window would not scroll down like it does in a windows explorer program)
so, what I did was move it (folder and sub-folders) one screen at a time!

User avatar
broomdodger
226 Transfer OK
Posts: 71
Joined: 2009-07-15 04:03
First name: Bill
Last name: Muench
Location: Santa Cruz, California

Re: how can I make 2 remote tabs pointing to SAME remote server

#6 Post by broomdodger » 2010-02-27 22:51

greggustin wrote:found a solution
I knew about the dag and drop
but my file listing was so long - I could not do it that way
(once a file was clicked to move, the file window would not scroll down like it does in a windows explorer program)
so, what I did was move it (folder and sub-folders) one screen at a time!
Have you tried using the setting found in the menu:

View > Remote directory tree

"Remote directory tree" will give you a view of all folders on the ftp site, then you can drag and drop, and you can have a file list in the next window pane.

Post Reply