FileZilla Forums

Welcome to the official discussion forums for FileZilla
Donate to project
It is currently 2014-04-24 18:12

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: 2010-04-15 16:36 
Offline
500 Command not understood

Joined: 2010-04-15 16:22
Posts: 3
This problem is driving me INSANE. We recently switched servers at work. Our host provided me with a new username and password, so I quickly went to work at updating our website.... I used to log into our ftp site through IE7 with no problems, and once we switched over I could no longer connect that way: "could not logon with the username and password specified." I contacted our host, who said he could connerct from his computer and suggested I try Filezilla, so I downloaded the program and setup a new site connection using the information he has provided - and QUADRUPLE checking that username and password were exactly as he had listed.... to no avail:

Status: Connecting to 209.124.50.69:21...
Status: Connection established, waiting for welcome message...
Response: 220 ProFTPD 1.3.1 Server ready.
Command: USER j
Response: 331 Password required for j
Command: PASS **********
Response: 530 Login incorrect.
Error: Critical error
Error: Could not connect to server

I contacted him about this, he did research, tried from his mac and from his pc, both of which were successful with the exact same password and username. On a whim, I tried loging on through my boss' computer, and it worked! Through IE7 AND filezilla. Elated, I tried again from mine, and got the same error message in both place.


What's going on?!?!?!? I need to be able to update our website from my computer!

ARGH!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 2010-04-15 17:22 
Online
226 Transfer OK
User avatar

Joined: 2006-05-01 03:28
Posts: 19663
Location: Germany
I'm sorry to say, but "530 Login incorrect" means wrong username and/or password for that host. Use the login data as-is, including case! ProFTPd has case sensitive usernames. Also check for leading or trailing spaces which are invisible but can spoil the meat.

_________________
### BEGIN SIGNATURE BLOCK ###
FTP connection problems? Do yourself a favor and read Network Configuration.
All FileZilla products fully support IPv6. http://worldipv6launch.org
All support requests per PM will be ignored!
### END SIGNATURE BLOCK ###


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 2010-04-19 14:42 
Offline
500 Command not understood

Joined: 2010-04-15 16:22
Posts: 3
hi Boco -

I have already done all of that - checked file cases, typed, copy-paste, checked spacing, etc... I've been at this for two weeks now.

What's really mysterious to me is that it works from the other computer in the office but not mine. How could that have anything to do with a password?

I understand that the error code says that's the issue - but then why would the same password work from another computer?

Is there any way I can ask my server/host to simply allow access to MY IP address without requesting a p-word?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 2010-04-19 17:32 
Online
226 Transfer OK
User avatar

Joined: 2006-05-01 03:28
Posts: 19663
Location: Germany
If username and password are 101% correct, check if you're even connecting to the right host. Don't laugh, if has happened before. Only slightly different hostnames (e. g. example.com vs. www.example.com) can resolve to completely different IPs.

Other than that, there would be only the possibility that something on your side mangles the login data.


Please test the server from http://ftptest.net like you would with FileZilla. Does it succeed or do you get the error anyway?

_________________
### BEGIN SIGNATURE BLOCK ###
FTP connection problems? Do yourself a favor and read Network Configuration.
All FileZilla products fully support IPv6. http://worldipv6launch.org
All support requests per PM will be ignored!
### END SIGNATURE BLOCK ###


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 2010-05-31 22:26 
Offline
500 Command not understood

Joined: 2010-05-31 22:12
Posts: 1
I'm having the same problem, my PC connects with no problems but my laptop just refuses to connect, I have no idea why this would be as there is no difference between how they are connected to the internet.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 2010-06-01 02:07 
Online
226 Transfer OK
User avatar

Joined: 2006-05-01 03:28
Posts: 19663
Location: Germany
You don't have the same problem. The OP's server rejected his login data, you don't even connect. Check all firewalls on the PC in question.

_________________
### BEGIN SIGNATURE BLOCK ###
FTP connection problems? Do yourself a favor and read Network Configuration.
All FileZilla products fully support IPv6. http://worldipv6launch.org
All support requests per PM will be ignored!
### END SIGNATURE BLOCK ###


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 2010-06-01 14:55 
Offline
500 Command not understood

Joined: 2010-04-15 16:22
Posts: 3
Well....the problem has resolved itself without my doing anything.

....I suspect that perhaps it was a problem on the servers' end, and they were too embarrassed to tell me what had happened.

...hmm.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 2010-08-09 16:20 
Offline
500 Syntax error

Joined: 2010-07-03 17:15
Posts: 17
montreal wrote:
Well....the problem has resolved itself without my doing anything.

....I suspect that perhaps it was a problem on the servers' end, and they were too embarrassed to tell me what had happened.

...hmm.


I'm still suffering from the same problem...What could it be...? Same login fail message, etc, and same issue, the login info IS correct...yet my mac has some bug, it seems, that f*** up the communication. What could that be? The ftptest says also that it's wrong login info OR that too many are connected, which makes NO sense...
Oh, please, you of great knowledge, put me out of my misery!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 2010-08-09 20:00 
Online
226 Transfer OK
User avatar

Joined: 2006-05-01 03:28
Posts: 19663
Location: Germany
Quote:
The ftptest says also that it's wrong login info OR that too many are connected, which makes NO sense...
If the ftptest fails also, then it's not your Mac. Then the problem is with the server.

_________________
### BEGIN SIGNATURE BLOCK ###
FTP connection problems? Do yourself a favor and read Network Configuration.
All FileZilla products fully support IPv6. http://worldipv6launch.org
All support requests per PM will be ignored!
### END SIGNATURE BLOCK ###


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 2010-08-09 22:11 
Offline
500 Syntax error

Joined: 2010-07-03 17:15
Posts: 17
boco wrote:
Quote:
The ftptest says also that it's wrong login info OR that too many are connected, which makes NO sense...
If the ftptest fails also, then it's not your Mac. Then the problem is with the server.


Okey, thank you. What does this entail? What should be my next move then?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 2010-08-09 22:52 
Offline
500 Syntax error

Joined: 2010-07-03 17:15
Posts: 17
This is what my host had to say:

Quote:
Dear Tor,

Thank you for contacting Online Support. I have just successfully connected to your hosting account via FTP. You
may want to try temporarily disabling any firewall or similar software
running on your machine to see if this is causing the issue, as it may
mistake FTP activity for malicious behavior and block it accordingly.

If
this does not solve the problem, try and connect to FTP using another
method, such as Internet Explorer (not available for Mac users). To do
this, type in the following into the address bar of your browser:
ftp://hostingusername@example.com. Replace "hostingusername" with
your hosting (FTP) username, and "example.com" with your domain
name. It will prompt you for a password, and then should connect you to
your account.

If this still does not work, I would suggest
trying on another computer, ideally one connecting to the Internet by
another method. This should establish whether the problem lies with
your computer or is broader in scope.

If you think that you may be using an incorrect username or password, you can verify them by using the steps below:

Retrieve your hosting (FTP) username

First, you will need to login to your account. Once logged in:

• Click on "My Account" which is located in the same space that you entered your customer number and password.
• Click on "Hosting Account List" in the "Hosting and Email" section.
• Click on the hosting account that you would like to view.
• On the right side of the page, your username is listed as the "Hosting Login".

Reset your hosting (FTP) password

• Click on "Hosting Account List" in the "Hosting and Email" section.
• Click on the "Manage Account" link next to your hosting account.
• Click on the "Account Login" icon in the "Settings" section.
• Enter your new password in both of the boxes and click the "Update" button.
• Confirm your update.

Please note that FTP password resets typically take up to 30 minutes to be processed.

If continue to experience FTP issues, please provide a copy of your FTP client's log so that we may research the issue further. We appreciate your understanding in this matter.

Please let us know if we can assist you in any other way.

Sincerely,
Joey P.
Online Support Team


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 2010-08-09 22:56 
Offline
500 Syntax error

Joined: 2010-07-03 17:15
Posts: 17
Hm, seems like I managed to fix it...
I simply left the "port" blank...Strange


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 2010-08-10 06:55 
Online
226 Transfer OK
User avatar

Joined: 2006-05-01 03:28
Posts: 19663
Location: Germany
*Shrugs*

_________________
### BEGIN SIGNATURE BLOCK ###
FTP connection problems? Do yourself a favor and read Network Configuration.
All FileZilla products fully support IPv6. http://worldipv6launch.org
All support requests per PM will be ignored!
### END SIGNATURE BLOCK ###


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 2011-07-23 00:30 
Offline
500 Command not understood

Joined: 2011-07-23 00:17
Posts: 3
I had the apparent same or very similar problem in that I could connect successfully using the filezilla quickconnect at the top of the client; yet could not connect to the same site through the site manager - although I have dozens of site manager sites set up and working great. It turned out to be on the quick connect I would simply type in the host "example.com" and the site as "siteusername" -- where on the site manager I was entering for username: siteusername @ example.com.

I have a number of subdomain sites that the @example.com is required for username and was confused as to which I was/should be using. :hammer:


All good now.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: BertieFox, Bing [Bot] and 21 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Dedicated server provided by Artmotion.
Forum sponsored by Everyware.ch.
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group