Parsing of remote file path doesn't work - "/" or not??

Need help with FileZilla Client? Something does not work as expected? In this forum you may find an answer.

Moderator: Project members

rhino
500 Command not understood

Parsing of remote file path doesn't work - "/" or not??

#1 Post by rhino » 2010-05-03 15:39

I keep getting the "Default remote path cannot be parsed error" within Site Manager when I try to set a value for the remote path. This happens whether I proceed that path with a slash or not. (Yes, I searched the Wiki and forums before I asked this and found the information that all remote paths needed to be preceded by a '/' as of version 3.2.)

I'm a new user of FileZilla but I am an experienced IT professional who has used several different file transfer programs over the years. FileZilla seems to be working in every respect except this one. I'm using FileZilla 3.3.2.1, freshly downloaded this morning, on Windows XP with SP2.

For the connection I'm currently playing with, the remote path is very simple: html. I've tried putting html in the remote path and I've tried using /html in the remote path but both cause the same error message, as cited in my first sentence. Is there some other syntax I should be using??

Is there something else I need to do in the setup? Since I don't know the operating system being used by the remote server and I'm not sure how to determine it conclusively, I've left the servertype as "Default (autodetect)". Would changing the servertype to the correct type help me here? If yes, what is the best way to determine the remote servertype?

If there is nothing I have omitted in the setup, is there any solution to this problem other than waiting for a fix in a later version of the FileZilla client?

This is not a huge problem - I can simply click on the remote directory(ies) until I get to the one I want - but it would certainly be convenient if I could get this to work correctly.

rhino
500 Command not understood