FileZilla Forums

Welcome to the official discussion forums for FileZilla
Donate to project
It is currently 2014-04-19 12:26

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Kiosk Mode
PostPosted: 2011-03-06 17:39 
Offline
504 Command not implemented

Joined: 2011-03-06 17:32
Posts: 11
I have been trying to sort through the forums to find out how to get FZ to stop saving passwords. So I found "change kiosk mode to 1."

I would expect this to be in the config section of FZ - but Nooooooo.

So I cleared all previous connections. edited filezilla.xml kiosk now "1". opened FZ. connected. closed FZ. opened FZ. password is still stored. This is a problem.

plus

how do I limit the time of an inactive session?

thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Kiosk Mode
PostPosted: 2011-03-06 20:14 
Offline
226 Transfer OK
User avatar

Joined: 2006-05-01 03:28
Posts: 19646
Location: Germany
Quote:
So I cleared all previous connections. edited filezilla.xml kiosk now "1". opened FZ. connected. closed FZ. opened FZ. password is still stored. This is a problem.
I just tested, inserted
Code:
        <Setting name="Kiosk mode">1</Setting>
into filezilla.xml, and FileZilla switched to kiosk mode. Alternatively, use fzdefaults.xml (see fzdefaults.xml.example in the docs subdirectory).

_________________
### BEGIN SIGNATURE BLOCK ###
FTP connection problems? Do yourself a favor and read Network Configuration.
All FileZilla products fully support IPv6. http://worldipv6launch.org
All support requests per PM will be ignored!
### END SIGNATURE BLOCK ###


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Kiosk Mode
PostPosted: 2011-03-06 22:09 
Offline
504 Command not implemented

Joined: 2011-03-06 17:32
Posts: 11
Right. I did just that, as reported in the last post.

here is the relevant portion of filezilla.xml

Quote:


found in
C:\Documents and Settings\[CURRENT USER]\Application Data\FileZilla

<Setting name="Config Location">C:\Documents and Settings\mrozner\Application Data\FileZilla</Setting>
<Setting name="Kiosk mode">1</Setting>
<Setting name="Disable update check">0</Setting>



and after I close, then reopen FZ, I can go to any of the 4 prior sites in "QUICKCONNECT" and connect without typing any password.

I have ensured that only one copy of filezilla.xml resides in my computer

So what am I doing wrong?

When should FZ ask for a password?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Kiosk Mode
PostPosted: 2011-03-06 22:15 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: 2004-02-23 20:49
Posts: 22533
Is the password still being saved after creating a new entry in the history?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Kiosk Mode
PostPosted: 2011-03-06 22:37 
Offline
504 Command not implemented

Joined: 2011-03-06 17:32
Posts: 11
yes. it appears to be intact and in real text in "recentservers.xml"

I cleared all 4 private data boxes in "edit-clear_private_data"
I signed onto my FTP server
I looked at recentservers.xml


i put in the XXXXXX where I did not want to disclose

Quote:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="yes" ?>
<FileZilla3>
<RecentServers>
<Server>
<Host>upload.xxxxxxx.net</Host>
<Port>21</Port>
<Protocol>0</Protocol>
<Type>0</Type>
<User>XXXXXXXX</User>
<Pass>XXXXXXXX</Pass>
<Logontype>1</Logontype>
<TimezoneOffset>0</TimezoneOffset>
<PasvMode>MODE_DEFAULT</PasvMode>
<MaximumMultipleConnections>0</MaximumMultipleConnections>
<EncodingType>Auto</EncodingType>
<BypassProxy>0</BypassProxy>
</Server>
</RecentServers>
</FileZilla3>


so FZ appears to continue to make these entries.

I did not restart my computer after changing filezilla.xml.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Kiosk Mode
PostPosted: 2011-03-06 23:22 
Offline
226 Transfer OK
User avatar

Joined: 2006-05-01 03:28
Posts: 19646
Location: Germany
Open the Site Manager and try to create an entry with Logontype ''Normal'' or ''Account''. If that succeeds, then FileZilla is not running in kiosk mode (Normal and Account logotypes are not available in this mode).

Quote:
how do I limit the time of an inactive session?
Such limits are set by the server.

_________________
### BEGIN SIGNATURE BLOCK ###
FTP connection problems? Do yourself a favor and read Network Configuration.
All FileZilla products fully support IPv6. http://worldipv6launch.org
All support requests per PM will be ignored!
### END SIGNATURE BLOCK ###


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Kiosk Mode
PostPosted: 2011-03-06 23:34 
Offline
504 Command not implemented

Joined: 2011-03-06 17:32
Posts: 11
Quote:
Open the Site Manager and try to create an entry with Logontype ''Normal'' or ''Account''.



well, it allows me. So this is not the kiosk mode. but kiosk mode is set in filezilla.xml

Computer has 5 "users" -
ALL
Default
Administrator
HH
MR (this is me - i am administrator

only one filezilla.xml - in my account
only one entry for "kiosk mode"

Code:
<Setting name="Kiosk mode">1</Setting>


so

what do you suppose it the problem?


    FileZilla Client
    ----------------

    Version: 3.3.5.1

    Build information:
    Compiled for: i586-pc-mingw32msvc
    Compiled on: x86_64-unknown-linux-gnu
    Build date: 2010-11-21
    Compiled with: i586-mingw32msvc-gcc (GCC) 4.2.1-sjlj (mingw32-2)
    Compiler flags: -g -O2 -Wall -g -fexceptions

    Linked against:
    wxWidgets: 2.8.11
    GnuTLS: 2.10.2

    Operating system:
    Name: Windows XP (build 2600, Service Pack 3)
    Version: 5.1
    Platform: 32 bit system


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Kiosk Mode
PostPosted: 2011-03-07 09:17 
Offline
226 Transfer OK
User avatar

Joined: 2006-05-01 03:28
Posts: 19646
Location: Germany
Odd. Do you have a file called fzdefaults.xml in the program directory of FileZilla? This file can be used to redirect the settings location, and it could still contain a kiosk mode 0 setting which overrides the one in filezilla.xml.

_________________
### BEGIN SIGNATURE BLOCK ###
FTP connection problems? Do yourself a favor and read Network Configuration.
All FileZilla products fully support IPv6. http://worldipv6launch.org
All support requests per PM will be ignored!
### END SIGNATURE BLOCK ###


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Kiosk Mode
PostPosted: 2011-03-07 14:11 
Offline
504 Command not implemented

Joined: 2011-03-06 17:32
Posts: 11
Quote:
Do you have a file called fzdefaults.xml in the program directory of FileZilla?



no. no such file anywhere in usually explored part of hard drive. there is a

fzd~.xml.example in that directory
filezilla.xml in UBCD4 directory (no kiosk setting)


I renamed filezilla.xml in my application directory, started FZ. A new file appeared with kiosk = 0. Where did that originate - FZ code not accessible to me?

I also looked at debug and logging, but these appear useful only for network debug. It does not show fetch for FZ.xml.


Last edited by renzo on 2011-03-07 14:13, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Kiosk Mode
PostPosted: 2011-03-07 14:12 
Offline
504 Command not implemented

Joined: 2011-03-06 17:32
Posts: 11
OOPS

fzdefaults.xml.example is in that folder.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Kiosk Mode
PostPosted: 2011-03-07 16:01 
Offline
226 Transfer OK
User avatar

Joined: 2006-05-01 03:28
Posts: 19646
Location: Germany
Let's try something.

1. Copy the fzdefaults.xml.example file from the docs subdirectory to the program directory of FileZilla and rename it to fzdefaults.xml.
2. Open the file with a good text editor (Notepad under Windows may not work, but Wordpad does).
3. Delete everything from that file, leave only
Code:
<FileZilla3>
    <Settings>
      <Setting name="Kiosk mode">1</Setting>
    </Settings>
</FileZilla3>

in there.
4. Start FileZilla and check if it is now running in kiosk mode 1.

_________________
### BEGIN SIGNATURE BLOCK ###
FTP connection problems? Do yourself a favor and read Network Configuration.
All FileZilla products fully support IPv6. http://worldipv6launch.org
All support requests per PM will be ignored!
### END SIGNATURE BLOCK ###


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Kiosk Mode
PostPosted: 2011-03-07 22:26 
Offline
504 Command not implemented

Joined: 2011-03-06 17:32
Posts: 11
in c:\docs&settings\myname\appdata\FZ
fxdefaults.xml

Code:
- <FileZilla3>
- <Settings>
  <Setting name="Kiosk mode">1</Setting>
  </Settings>
  </FileZilla3>



still kiosk mode (i.e., site manager still has normal and account modes)

am I supposed to have TWO registry entries for FZ?

HKLM\software\Filezilla 3
HKLM\software\FileZilla Client

In addition, I just did a registrar lite search.

I also have two entries in HKU

    HKEY_USERS\S-1-5-21-583907252-299502267-839522115-1003\Software\NVIDIA Corporation\Global\nView\WindowManagement\filezilla
    HKEY_USERS\S-1-5-21-583907252-299502267-839522115-1003\Software\NVIDIA
    Corporation\Global\nView\WindowManagement\filezilla_3.3.5

which I would have believed was for placement but the DWORD keys are both zero. I run NVIDIA nview for dual monitors on this computer. I have not tried this on another computer.

video card is Nvidia Quadro NVS 285

I guess that this has not been reported before?

Am I looking in the right places?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Kiosk Mode
PostPosted: 2011-03-07 23:53 
Offline
504 Command not implemented

Joined: 2011-03-06 17:32
Posts: 11
Bad News

I just installed FZ from the web.

    FileZilla Client
    ----------------

    Version: 3.3.5.1

    Build information:
    Compiled for: i586-pc-mingw32msvc
    Compiled on: x86_64-unknown-linux-gnu
    Build date: 2010-11-21
    Compiled with: i586-mingw32msvc-gcc (GCC) 4.2.1-sjlj (mingw32-2)
    Compiler flags: -g -O2 -Wall -g -fexceptions

    Linked against:
    wxWidgets: 2.8.11
    GnuTLS: 2.10.2

    Operating system:
    Name: Windows XP (build 2600, Service Pack 3)
    Version: 5.1
    Platform: 32 bit system

Went to filezilla.xml and changed kiosk mode to 1

This program continues to have "normal" and "account" modes in the site manager.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Kiosk Mode
PostPosted: 2011-03-08 06:59 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: 2004-02-23 20:49
Posts: 22533
renzo wrote:
in c:\docs&settings\myname\appdata\FZ
fxdefaults.xml


FileZilla does not look in %APPDATA%/FZ but in %APPDATA%/FileZilla

Also, it's spelled fzdefaults.xml, not fxdefaults.xml

Quote:
Code:
- <FileZilla3>
- <Settings>
  <Setting name="Kiosk mode">1</Setting>
  </Settings>
  </FileZilla3>


The hyphens do not belong there.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Kiosk Mode
PostPosted: 2011-03-08 08:09 
Offline
226 Transfer OK
User avatar

Joined: 2006-05-01 03:28
Posts: 19646
Location: Germany
Quote:
in c:\docs&settings\myname\appdata\FZ
fxdefaults.xml
No! The file is called fzdefaults.xml and must be in the program directory of FileZilla, that's the one where FileZilla.exe is.

Quote:
still kiosk mode (i.e., site manager still has normal and account modes)
Normal and Account options do not disappear, even in kiosk mode. To find out if kiosk mode is enabled, select one of them and press OK. You should get a dialog window telling you that these two are not available because FileZilla is in kiosk mode.

@botg: Could we have a visual confirmation for the mode running (maybe in the About window or similar location)?

_________________
### BEGIN SIGNATURE BLOCK ###
FTP connection problems? Do yourself a favor and read Network Configuration.
All FileZilla products fully support IPv6. http://worldipv6launch.org
All support requests per PM will be ignored!
### END SIGNATURE BLOCK ###


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Dedicated server provided by Artmotion.
Forum sponsored by Everyware.ch.
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group