Connect Automatically to Remote Site

Need help with FileZilla Client? Something does not work as expected? In this forum you may find an answer.

Moderator: Project members

Post Reply
Message
Author
dld@law.pace.edu
500 Command not understood
Posts: 1
Joined: 2015-08-21 16:16
First name: Don

Connect Automatically to Remote Site

#1 Post by dld@law.pace.edu » 2015-08-21 17:22

I am new to this forum, so forgive me if this question has been asked and answered. I searched but was unsuccessful.
I am using the current version of FileZilla on a Windows 7 box. I always want to go to the same remote site automatically upon opening the program, but I cannot seem to get the syntax correct. As I understand it from the wiki, the syntax is: filezilla --site="0/MyServer. It's the MyServer part I am stuck on. The web site itself is "http://lawweb.pace.edu/dld/". The remote directory that I use in FileZilla is "/dld". That directory is actually a subdirectory of "/lawschool", but FileZilla will connect properly from within the program with either designation.
I have tried all sorts of variations (except the right one, obviously), such as the following:

https://lawweb.pace.edu/dld
https://lawweb.pace.edu/lawschool/dld
Both of the above without the introductory https
/dld
/lawschool
/lawschool/dld

For all of these I get the error message: "The site does not exist." I suspect there is a simple answer for this problem; the difficulty is that I am simpler than the answer is. If anyone can offer something, I will be most grateful. Thanks for your time.

User avatar
boco
Contributor
Posts: 25275
Joined: 2006-05-01 03:28
Location: Germany

Re: Connect Automatically to Remote Site

#2 Post by boco » 2015-08-21 21:03

The "MyServer" string refers to the name of the Site Manager entry you have to create first. But you can also simply specify the raw URL on the command line, without the "--site=" string.

Please be aware that FileZilla can connect only to FTP (ftp:// or ftpes:// or ftps://) and SFTP (sftp://) servers. HTTPS cannot be used.
### BEGIN SIGNATURE BLOCK ###
No support requests per PM! You will NOT get any reply!!!
FTP connection problems? Do yourself a favor and read Network Configuration.
FileZilla connection test: https://filezilla-project.org/conntest.php
### END SIGNATURE BLOCK ###

nickhope
500 Command not understood
Posts: 2
Joined: 2020-10-08 09:24
First name: Nick
Last name: Hope

Re: Connect Automatically to Remote Site

#3 Post by nickhope » 2020-10-08 10:09

I also have this issue. I have read a number of threads about it on these forums but still can't get it working.

I have a site named "fplform.com" in "My Sites". It's not in a subfolder. The host is ftp.bubblevision.com. fplform.com is an "addon" site in bubblevision.com/public_html/. The default remote directory for "fplform.com" is /public_html/fplform.com.

I have tried many variations in the command line and in my shortcut but I always get the message "Site does not exist", often with "Site path has to begin with 0 or 1". Here are few of the command lines I have tried:

"C:\Program Files (x86)\FileZilla FTP Client\filezilla.exe" -c --site="0/fplform.com"
"C:\Program Files (x86)\FileZilla FTP Client\filezilla.exe" -c --site="0/ftp.bubblevision.com"
"C:\Program Files (x86)\FileZilla FTP Client\filezilla.exe" --site="0/ftp.bubblevision.com"
"C:\Program Files (x86)\FileZilla FTP Client\filezilla.exe" --site="ftp.bubblevision.com"
"C:\Program Files (x86)\FileZilla FTP Client\filezilla.exe" "ftp.bubblevision.com"
etc..

Why don't any of these work? What else can I try?

nickhope
500 Command not understood
Posts: 2
Joined: 2020-10-08 09:24
First name: Nick
Last name: Hope

Re: Connect Automatically to Remote Site

#4 Post by nickhope » 2020-10-08 10:20

Never mind. As soon as I had registered and posted, it suddenly sprung to life and started working with this line:

"C:\Program Files (x86)\FileZilla FTP Client\filezilla.exe" -c --site="0/fplform.com"

Post Reply