How can I disable directory caching in filezilla 3?

Need help with FileZilla Client? Something does not work as expected? In this forum you may find an answer.

Moderator: Project members

Message
Author
St8-15
500 Command not understood
Posts: 3
Joined: 2007-10-09 10:36

How can I disable directory caching in filezilla 3?

#1 Post by St8-15 » 2007-10-09 10:40

How can I disable directory caching in filezilla 3? I can't find this option in filezilla anymore. In filezilla it was in Edit->Setting->Connection.

User avatar
botg
Site Admin
Posts: 32151
Joined: 2004-02-23 20:49
First name: Tim
Last name: Kosse
Contact:

#2 Post by botg » 2007-10-09 10:45

You can't disable it.

Do you suffer from any cache related issues?

St8-15
500 Command not understood
Posts: 3
Joined: 2007-10-09 10:36

#3 Post by St8-15 » 2007-10-09 11:24

This wouldn't be an issue for standard filezilla use, but I use it to check ftp servers of many companies. And when there are many ftp servers you trie to spend as less time with each as possible. And hiting F5 takes extra seconds :). But the worst is this scenario: You enter some folders, files get chached. Then you change those folder's permisions to deny acces. Then you want to check if everything works like it should work. You try to enter those same folders and you succeed (because folders are cached), but you shouldn't... Of course you can hit F5 and get access denied error, but it's not logical - you are in folder which has access denied and you see files which are already gone (because I've deleted them on server) and you can't refresh that folder with F5 because access is denied. I think you've got the point :) It would be very nice to be able to disable directory caching :)

Brausepaul
500 Command not understood
Posts: 3
Joined: 2004-06-28 18:18

#4 Post by Brausepaul » 2007-10-09 13:20

I just ran into a cache related issue / annoyance (FZ 3.0.1): I frequently connected to a server to check if a log file was written correctly (->growing file size). For quite some time I was thinking that their is a problem with appending text to the log file until I hit F5 and noticed that I was looking at a cached folder all the time.

alemex
500 Command not understood
Posts: 1
Joined: 2007-10-10 12:39

#5 Post by alemex » 2007-10-10 12:42

I get some problems with cahing also.
FTP Server is IIS.
I can't see new files that I don't put myself. Even old files.

User avatar
botg
Site Admin
Posts: 32151
Joined: 2004-02-23 20:49
First name: Tim
Last name: Kosse
Contact:

#6 Post by botg » 2007-10-10 14:47

That aren't cache related issues, that's expected behavior. With all caches you need to perform a refresh to see external changes. Same thing with your webbrowser.

St8-15
500 Command not understood
Posts: 3
Joined: 2007-10-09 10:36

#7 Post by St8-15 » 2007-10-17 09:15

Yes I know that with all caches I need to perform a refresh. But I don't want filezilla to act like a webbrowser :) So I'm interested if there is ny reason to omit the posibility to disable directory caching in filezilla 3? Because in filezilla 2 that was posible and I was very happy with it :)

User avatar
botg
Site Admin
Posts: 32151
Joined: 2004-02-23 20:49
First name: Tim
Last name: Kosse
Contact:

#8 Post by botg » 2007-10-17 09:52

No. The entire engine expects a working cache at all times.

derf
550 File not found
Posts: 33
Joined: 2004-03-22 01:10
Location: Montréal, QC

#9 Post by derf » 2007-10-21 03:38

Maybe the possibility to adjust the expiration time on the cache could correct this issue?

koretico
500 Command not understood
Posts: 2
Joined: 2007-10-25 08:10

#10 Post by koretico » 2007-10-25 08:25

forget it, they now what you need better than you

myster_fr
500 Command not understood
Posts: 3
Joined: 2004-08-12 12:28

Re: How can I disable directory caching in filezilla 3?

#11 Post by myster_fr » 2007-11-28 15:04

Hello,

Remote site caching is a real problem for me. I have to check very often if new files are made available on a remote server.
And current cache settings in FZ3 are such a pain in the ass, that I even think about going back to FZ2...

By reading the threads, I understood that caching has an important role to play in FZ3, so if complete disabling is impossible, being able to reduce cache TTL would be already helpful !

Thanks !

aty
500 Command not understood
Posts: 1
Joined: 2008-01-21 17:58
First name: Attila
Last name: Gömbös

Re: How can I disable directory caching in filezilla 3?

#12 Post by aty » 2008-01-21 18:17

We would like to promote the Filezilla client to our customers.
But that cache "feature" is very annoying. Files of the customers are modified by us, and they can't see the changes until they press F5.

I don't understand why the client can't remove it's cache after quitting. Why should Filezilla rely on the latest connection? It makes no sense.

User avatar
botg
Site Admin
Posts: 32151
Joined: 2004-02-23 20:49
First name: Tim
Last name: Kosse
Contact:

Re: How can I disable directory caching in filezilla 3?

#13 Post by botg » 2008-01-21 19:53

Quitting deletes the cache, it doesn't stay over sessions.

redmondsau
500 Command not understood
Posts: 2
Joined: 2008-03-11 23:47
First name: Raoul
Last name: Adra

Re: How can I disable directory caching in filezilla 3?

#14 Post by redmondsau » 2008-03-11 23:55

I personally think that it is a failing to not be able to disable cache. I love this product and don;t want to insult any of the developers however I used to be able to disable cache in previous versions and want to be able to disable it now. Personally it is very annoying.

Otherwise obviously the best ftp app on the market.

dacookie4u
500 Command not understood
Posts: 1
Joined: 2009-03-05 10:44
First name: Cookie
Last name: Monster

Re: How can I disable directory caching in filezilla 3?

#15 Post by dacookie4u » 2009-03-05 10:54

I am sorry to bring this up again, but I tried to endure the diretory caching so far. But yesterday I hit the bottom! I had to reupload 2000 files since i forgot to hit goddamn F5 for a refresh and deleted the content of a directory that i thought was outdated!

I really do love Filezilla, but I can't take it anymore. Is there no way that the devs are implementing the possibility to switch off the caching like v2 did? If not I will probably need to switch to another client, since this has been annoying as long as I am working with v3.

Would anybody please mind to tell me if there is a plan in the future to implement the possibility of turning the damn cache off?

Sorry for the harsh language, but it really p***ed me off yesterday and I felt like taking action (and I nearly did the same mistake on some other files today) ...

btw. i am probably not the only one who has no problem waiting for the directory listing each time i click on a directory on the serverside, since it really does not take as long as hitting F5 (and to remember that first).

Thanks for any comments!

ps: I hope I did not offend anyone.

Post Reply