New Computer and FTP doesn't upload

Need help with FileZilla Client? Something does not work as expected? In this forum you may find an answer.

Moderator: Project members

Post Reply
Message
Author
Sledge
504 Command not implemented
Posts: 6
Joined: 2018-12-06 01:10
First name: Nathan
Last name: Olsen

New Computer and FTP doesn't upload

#1 Post by Sledge » 2018-12-06 01:48

So I got me a new computer. Installed filezilla and went to upload some files, mostly jar/zip. Turns out every single file was corrupt. No errors. First thought was maybe it was doing some ascii conversion when it shouldn't. Tried forcing binary and then ascii. Still not working. Thought maybe it was just the server so I cracked open the old computer and it worked first try. So any idea what the hell I'm doing wrong on the new PC?

User avatar
botg
Site Admin
Posts: 31897
Joined: 2004-02-23 20:49
First name: Tim
Last name: Kosse
Contact:

Re: New Computer and FTP doesn't upload

#2 Post by botg » 2018-12-06 08:40

Sounds like a faulty firewall or faulty networking hardware.

Make sure you are using FTP over TLS. When using FTP over TLS, any data corruption is immediately detected and no bad data is written to any file.

User avatar
boco
Contributor
Posts: 24323
Joined: 2006-05-01 03:28
Location: Germany

Re: New Computer and FTP doesn't upload

#3 Post by boco » 2018-12-06 19:25

Sounds like bad RAM flipping bits. Not always detected with non-ECC RAM.
### BEGIN SIGNATURE BLOCK ###
No support requests per PM! You will NOT get any reply!!!
FTP connection problems? Do yourself a favor and read Network Configuration.
All FileZilla products fully support IPv6. http://worldipv6launch.org
### END SIGNATURE BLOCK ###

Sledge
504 Command not implemented
Posts: 6
Joined: 2018-12-06 01:10
First name: Nathan
Last name: Olsen

Re: New Computer and FTP doesn't upload

#4 Post by Sledge » 2018-12-06 20:59

botg wrote:
2018-12-06 08:40
Sounds like a faulty firewall or faulty networking hardware.

Make sure you are using FTP over TLS. When using FTP over TLS, any data corruption is immediately detected and no bad data is written to any file.
Unfortunately this is from multiple locations so if there is faulty hardware then it is internal to the laptop. I am trying to convince the server host to turn on TLS. Not sure why they don't have it on already.
Last edited by Sledge on 2018-12-06 21:08, edited 1 time in total.

Sledge
504 Command not implemented
Posts: 6
Joined: 2018-12-06 01:10
First name: Nathan
Last name: Olsen

Re: New Computer and FTP doesn't upload

#5 Post by Sledge » 2018-12-06 21:00

boco wrote:
2018-12-06 19:25
Sounds like bad RAM flipping bits. Not always detected with non-ECC RAM.
That is going to be a lovely thing to deal with the warranty for. Do you know if any of the ram test like memtest will be able to detect it?

User avatar
botg
Site Admin
Posts: 31897
Joined: 2004-02-23 20:49
First name: Tim
Last name: Kosse
Contact:

Re: New Computer and FTP doesn't upload

#6 Post by botg » 2018-12-06 23:42

There's a sudden influx of topics like this over the past couple of weeks. Could there be a third-party firewall or AV vendor that has shipped a product that intentionally sabotages data?

Sledge
504 Command not implemented
Posts: 6
Joined: 2018-12-06 01:10
First name: Nathan
Last name: Olsen

Re: New Computer and FTP doesn't upload

#7 Post by Sledge » 2018-12-07 23:20

botg wrote:
2018-12-06 23:42
There's a sudden influx of topics like this over the past couple of weeks. Could there be a third-party firewall or AV vendor that has shipped a product that intentionally sabotages data?
Maybe a driver bug? I have used my old computer to connect on the same wifi. Both computers only use the windows firewall.

Sledge
504 Command not implemented
Posts: 6
Joined: 2018-12-06 01:10
First name: Nathan
Last name: Olsen

Re: New Computer and FTP doesn't upload

#8 Post by Sledge » 2018-12-08 04:57

I need to test this on ethernet.

RobertAptacy
500 Command not understood
Posts: 3
Joined: 2018-12-21 05:11
First name: Robert
Last name: Aptacy
Location: POLAND

Re: New Computer and FTP doesn't upload

#9 Post by RobertAptacy » 2018-12-21 05:21

Jestem początkujący informatykiem. Właśnie zaczynam przygodę z filezillą.
Czy możesz dokładniej opisać, jak wygląda półautomatyczna synchronizacja.
Jestem bardzo podekscytowany z powodu pomocy.

chciałbym pracować na mojej stronie: :D
<URL removed>
I am a novice IT specialist. I am just starting my adventure with filezilla.
Can you more accurately describe what semi-automatic synchronization looks like.
I am very excited for help.

I would like to work on my site
Last edited by boco on 2018-12-21 09:35, edited 1 time in total.
URL REMOVED, READ THE RULES!!!

User avatar
boco
Contributor
Posts: 24323
Joined: 2006-05-01 03:28
Location: Germany

Re: New Computer and FTP doesn't upload

#10 Post by boco » 2018-12-21 09:39

We only allow posts in English here. Additionally, posting URLs to third-party sites without reason is regarded as spamming.

Semi-automatic means that FileZilla can show you the differences, but you need to transfer, by yourself.
### BEGIN SIGNATURE BLOCK ###
No support requests per PM! You will NOT get any reply!!!
FTP connection problems? Do yourself a favor and read Network Configuration.
All FileZilla products fully support IPv6. http://worldipv6launch.org
### END SIGNATURE BLOCK ###

Sledge
504 Command not implemented
Posts: 6
Joined: 2018-12-06 01:10
First name: Nathan
Last name: Olsen

Re: New Computer and FTP doesn't upload

#11 Post by Sledge » 2019-01-27 04:21

Sledge wrote:
2018-12-08 04:57
I need to test this on ethernet.
Just to follow up on this. Issues seems to be due to bad wireless drivers.

Post Reply