FTP - Filezilla - Tar

Need help with FileZilla Client? Something does not work as expected? In this forum you may find an answer.

Moderator: Project members

Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
Ronald
500 Command not understood
Posts: 3
Joined: 2019-08-10 23:00
First name: Ronald
Last name: Beaudoin

FTP - Filezilla - Tar

#1 Post by Ronald » 2019-08-10 23:19

I was using the Filezilla a short time ago, using a wireless mouse which was very touchy, and I accidentally slid the tar.php in to the modules .php.

How can I put the tar.php back where it belongs between the image.php and modules.php

I can explain better with the images probably.

1.
public_html.png
public_html.png (130.41 KiB) Viewed 1126 times
2.
arcade_02.png
arcade_02.png (171.5 KiB) Viewed 1126 times
3.
tar_01.png
tar_01.png (151.07 KiB) Viewed 1126 times
I'm not all that savvy on the FTP, but if someone can explain, I probably could get it back..

Thanks

Ron.

User avatar
boco
Contributor
Posts: 24683
Joined: 2006-05-01 03:28
Location: Germany

Re: FTP - Filezilla - Tar

#2 Post by boco » 2019-08-11 00:32

So, it should be in the arcade directory (where exactly it appears in the 'arcade' listing does not matter). While being in 'modules', just click on tar.php, hold the mouse key down and drag it on the 'arcade' entry in the upper directory tree. Then, let go, and it will be moved back.

Alternatively, you can
1. change to 'modules',
2. download tar.php to your local drive (the other side in FileZilla),
3. change to 'arcade',
4. re-upload it from your local drive back to the correct place,
5. finally, delete the wrong file in 'modules'.
### BEGIN SIGNATURE BLOCK ###
No support requests per PM! You will NOT get any reply!!!
FTP connection problems? Do yourself a favor and read Network Configuration.
All FileZilla products fully support IPv6. http://worldipv6launch.org
### END SIGNATURE BLOCK ###

User avatar
Ronald
500 Command not understood
Posts: 3
Joined: 2019-08-10 23:00
First name: Ronald
Last name: Beaudoin

Re: FTP - Filezilla - Tar

#3 Post by Ronald » 2019-08-11 02:10

Thanks boco, I did drag it to Arcade, I thought it took, I guess it did, but its back in modules.

User avatar
boco
Contributor
Posts: 24683
Joined: 2006-05-01 03:28
Location: Germany

Re: FTP - Filezilla - Tar

#4 Post by boco » 2019-08-11 21:52

If it did not move, you must observe the log pane at the top, there must be an error message, there.

The alternative I posted should work, unless you have no rights to write to 'arcade'.


Back to your first post, 'images' and 'modules' are directories, not files. It is highly unlikely that the tar.php file was between them.
### BEGIN SIGNATURE BLOCK ###
No support requests per PM! You will NOT get any reply!!!
FTP connection problems? Do yourself a favor and read Network Configuration.
All FileZilla products fully support IPv6. http://worldipv6launch.org
### END SIGNATURE BLOCK ###

User avatar
Ronald
500 Command not understood
Posts: 3
Joined: 2019-08-10 23:00
First name: Ronald
Last name: Beaudoin

Re: FTP - Filezilla - Tar

#5 Post by Ronald » 2019-08-11 22:16

Have no problems writing to the arcade, I am the owner, have been uploading games, close to 31500 now..

I thought when I opened the Filezilla and clicked on Arcade and right click to Enter Directory, I always seen Tar.php, am I correct on this..For some reason I keep moving it and it never shows, so I have to do public_html/arcade/tar in order to find it..

I am not that handy sliding tar around, I lost it once, and good thing I had a copy on the desktop..

I like Filezilla used it for years when I had to, lately I have use a different one, took my 7 hours to installing 98 games..Filezilla is a little quicker, but keep loosing contact with the server..

I used Filezilla to transfer my arcade forum over to a VPS server, filezilla keep cutting out and in, and I lost a lot

But there most be a simpler way to get to see Tar.php when I open Arcade..

Ron..

Post Reply