New Update giving me this error [SOLVED]

Need help with FileZilla Client? Something does not work as expected? In this forum you may find an answer.

Moderator: Project members

Post Reply
Message
Author
Eblanc88
504 Command not implemented
Posts: 7
Joined: 2019-07-09 20:57
First name: Enrique
Last name: Blanc

New Update giving me this error [SOLVED]

#1 Post by Eblanc88 » 2019-08-22 18:10

This is minimal but it's getting a bit annoying, this started since last update. a month or two ago.

I'm getting this error every time I start FileZilla.

Image

http://imgur.com/a/zlfFd9m

I'm opening filezilla with Keyboard shortcuts so this is the command line I'm using:

run, C:\Program Files\FileZilla FTP Client\filezilla.exe FTP://streamingxfiles:Password@1xx.47.2x9.x0

Which normally has always worked, still works except that every time that

I've already gone into site manager and set this server as use plain FTP insecure.

but I'm still getting this error any ideas?
Last edited by Eblanc88 on 2019-08-29 15:29, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
botg
Site Admin
Posts: 32335
Joined: 2004-02-23 20:49
First name: Tim
Last name: Kosse
Contact:

Re: New Update giving me this error

#2 Post by botg » 2019-08-22 18:26

Please make sure you are using the very latest version. After having done so, which version are you using?

Eblanc88
504 Command not implemented
Posts: 7
Joined: 2019-07-09 20:57
First name: Enrique
Last name: Blanc

Re: New Update giving me this error

#3 Post by Eblanc88 » 2019-08-22 22:42

.
Last edited by Eblanc88 on 2019-08-22 22:43, edited 1 time in total.

Eblanc88
504 Command not implemented
Posts: 7
Joined: 2019-07-09 20:57
First name: Enrique
Last name: Blanc

Re: New Update giving me this error

#4 Post by Eblanc88 » 2019-08-22 22:42

botg wrote:
2019-08-22 18:26
Please make sure you are using the very latest version. After having done so, which version are you using?
Just updated today.

I believe it's 3.44.2

User avatar
boco
Contributor
Posts: 24649
Joined: 2006-05-01 03:28
Location: Germany

Re: New Update giving me this error

#5 Post by boco » 2019-08-22 23:26

You have to tick the checkbox and confirm the warning once. It won't show again for this server.

You are starting with a server URI at the command line. Thus, you are not using the Site Manager at all and nothing you set there will make any difference. Starting a connection from the Site Manager requires a different command line argument.
### BEGIN SIGNATURE BLOCK ###
No support requests per PM! You will NOT get any reply!!!
FTP connection problems? Do yourself a favor and read Network Configuration.
All FileZilla products fully support IPv6. http://worldipv6launch.org
### END SIGNATURE BLOCK ###

Eblanc88
504 Command not implemented
Posts: 7
Joined: 2019-07-09 20:57
First name: Enrique
Last name: Blanc

Re: New Update giving me this error

#6 Post by Eblanc88 » 2019-08-22 23:46

boco wrote:
2019-08-22 23:26
You have to tick the checkbox and confirm the warning once. It won't show again for this server.

You are starting with a server URI at the command line. Thus, you are not using the Site Manager at all and nothing you set there will make any difference. Starting a connection from the Site Manager requires a different command line argument.
I have ticked the box but it always comes up.

What command line argument would i need to start the server from the site manager? maybe that will fix my problem. Thanks in advance.

I'm running this line through AHK script. But it's basically using the Windows Run prompt.

This is the comment I'm putting. Password and actual Ip are different, but you get the idea. Would be much appreciated if you could kind of show me what to write in the command line.

run, C:\Program Files\FileZilla FTP Client\filezilla.exe FTP://streamingxfiles:Password@1xx.47.2x9.x0

User avatar
boco
Contributor
Posts: 24649
Joined: 2006-05-01 03:28
Location: Germany

Re: New Update giving me this error

#7 Post by boco » 2019-08-23 10:30

That's why we asked which version you are on. The recurring checkbox was a bug in a previous version that is fixed in 3.44.2 and later.

Reference page: https://wiki.filezilla-project.org/Comm ... s_(Client)

Use the -c (or --site) argument for starting your defined Start Manager entry. Currently, you use a custom URI which always uses default/global settings.
### BEGIN SIGNATURE BLOCK ###
No support requests per PM! You will NOT get any reply!!!
FTP connection problems? Do yourself a favor and read Network Configuration.
All FileZilla products fully support IPv6. http://worldipv6launch.org
### END SIGNATURE BLOCK ###

Eblanc88
504 Command not implemented
Posts: 7
Joined: 2019-07-09 20:57
First name: Enrique
Last name: Blanc

Re: New Update giving me this error

#8 Post by Eblanc88 » 2019-08-27 16:41

boco wrote:
2019-08-23 10:30
That's why we asked which version you are on. The recurring checkbox was a bug in a previous version that is fixed in 3.44.2 and later.

Reference page: https://wiki.filezilla-project.org/Comm ... s_(Client)

Use the -c (or --site) argument for starting your defined Start Manager entry. Currently, you use a custom URI which always uses default/global settings.
Hi Boco,

I'm confirming I do have version 3.44.2. In fact I didn't had this problem with the previous version. When I updated thats when I started having this problem.

Do you know if its possible for me to change my command line to access site manager instead and launch server.

Also, I haven't thought about this, but it might be worthwhile to go back to the previous version to fix this, what do you think?

All feedback, support and ideas are very welcome!

User avatar
botg
Site Admin
Posts: 32335
Joined: 2004-02-23 20:49
First name: Tim
Last name: Kosse
Contact:

Re: New Update giving me this error

#9 Post by botg » 2019-08-28 07:08

Downgrading is not a supported use-case. It can damage all your stored site configuration.

Eblanc88
504 Command not implemented
Posts: 7
Joined: 2019-07-09 20:57
First name: Enrique
Last name: Blanc

Re: New Update giving me this error

#10 Post by Eblanc88 » 2019-08-28 17:21

botg wrote:
2019-08-28 07:08
Downgrading is not a supported use-case. It can damage all your stored site configuration.
What do you suggest I do? I have the latest available version installed. (3.44.2)

User avatar
boco
Contributor
Posts: 24649
Joined: 2006-05-01 03:28
Location: Germany

Re: New Update giving me this error

#11 Post by boco » 2019-08-28 20:42

Do you know if its possible for me to change my command line to access site manager instead and launch server.
I linked you to the overview of command line options. Use the -c option at the command line and specify your Site Manager entry in the required syntax.

If your Site Manager entry is named "test", then you'd use:

Code: Select all

FileZilla.exe -c="0/test"
### BEGIN SIGNATURE BLOCK ###
No support requests per PM! You will NOT get any reply!!!
FTP connection problems? Do yourself a favor and read Network Configuration.
All FileZilla products fully support IPv6. http://worldipv6launch.org
### END SIGNATURE BLOCK ###

Eblanc88
504 Command not implemented
Posts: 7
Joined: 2019-07-09 20:57
First name: Enrique
Last name: Blanc

Re: New Update giving me this error

#12 Post by Eblanc88 » 2019-08-29 15:18

boco wrote:
2019-08-28 20:42
Do you know if its possible for me to change my command line to access site manager instead and launch server.
I linked you to the overview of command line options. Use the -c option at the command line and specify your Site Manager entry in the required syntax.

If your Site Manager entry is named "test", then you'd use:

Code: Select all

FileZilla.exe -c="0/test"
This is now solved. Thanks.

I tried to look for the syntax before but couldn't find it, I searched online but only got error codes for syntax problems. Where do I normally get this information?

Also kind of curious so "-c" must be to access site manager, what does the "=0" mean in this instance?

Again thanks for the help.

User avatar
boco
Contributor
Posts: 24649
Joined: 2006-05-01 03:28
Location: Germany

Re: New Update giving me this error [SOLVED]

#13 Post by boco » 2019-08-29 16:15

It's all explained in the linked Wiki article.

-c (or, alternatively, --site) is used for starting a Site Manager entry. It is -c because -s was already taken. :wink:

The = is just a separator.

"0" is entry type and means "user defined Site Manager entry". It is about the only type a normal user will ever see. Everything you save to the Site Manager is a user defined entry and start with a "0".
IT Admins have also the possibility to create predefined Site Manager entries, these entries can not be changed by the user. That's the entry type starting with a "1".

"/" is a path separator.

At the end, the path and name of your Site Manager entry. Path is only required if you organized your Site Manager in groups (yes, you can create folders there). The whole string is enclosed in double quotes due to possible spaces in it.
### BEGIN SIGNATURE BLOCK ###
No support requests per PM! You will NOT get any reply!!!
FTP connection problems? Do yourself a favor and read Network Configuration.
All FileZilla products fully support IPv6. http://worldipv6launch.org
### END SIGNATURE BLOCK ###

Post Reply