[SOLVED] Problem changing default remote directory

Need help with FileZilla Client? Something does not work as expected? In this forum you may find an answer.

Moderator: Project members

Post Reply
Message
Author
einstein1969
500 Command not understood
Posts: 2
Joined: 2020-06-11 13:20
First name: Francesco
Last name: Poscetti

[SOLVED] Problem changing default remote directory

#1 Post by einstein1969 » 2020-06-11 14:13

Hello, I have a problem with an ftp site that has in the root a hidden folder at the LS command. This folder is the folder where I have access and I have to transfer my files. I would like to have a connection made to change the working directory in this subdirectory which in my case is called "creovalore". I tried in the settings of the Site in sitemanager as set the default remote and local directory, but when I go to transfer a file or create a directory I go to add in the remote path twice the directory "creovalore". Example /creovalore/creovalore/nuova_dir . Then I took it off and tried to do a post login command as indicated here https://wiki.filezilla-project.org/Post_login_commands, but it seems not to work. Do not change folder

my sitemanager.xml

Code: Select all

<?xml version="1.0"?>
<FileZilla3 version="3.48.1" platform="windows">
	<Servers>
		<Server>
			<Host>...</Host>
			<Port>...</Port>
			<Protocol>0</Protocol>
			<Type>0</Type>
			<User>...</User>
			<Pass encoding="base64">...</Pass>
			<Logontype>1</Logontype>
			<PasvMode>MODE_DEFAULT</PasvMode>
			<EncodingType>Auto</EncodingType>
			<PostLoginCommands>
				<Command>CD creovalore</Command>
				<Command>PWD</Command>
				<Command>LS</Command>
			</PostLoginCommands>
			<BypassProxy>0</BypassProxy>
			<Name>...</Name>
			<Colour>2</Colour>
			<SyncBrowsing>0</SyncBrowsing>
			<DirectoryComparison>0</DirectoryComparison>
		</Server>
	</Servers>
</FileZilla3>
please help me
Last edited by einstein1969 on 2020-06-11 14:42, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
boco
Contributor
Posts: 25259
Joined: 2006-05-01 03:28
Location: Germany

Re: Problem changing default remote directory

#2 Post by boco » 2020-06-11 14:27

FTP does not know any CD command, neither does it know what's LS. Both commands are DOS/UNIX commands and used as abstraction in some command line clients (translated behind the scenes).

FTP Command to change directory is CWD, and MLSD (or the deprecated LIST) is used to list contents. Unfortunately, that won't work right, as post-login commands do changes FileZilla is not aware of (no feedback from there). It will still think it's in the root of the server and act accordingly.

As for the default remote directory, putting in /creovalore should be enough. Always start with the slash, as only absolute paths are supported. Don't upload a local "creovalore" directory directly (that would create a further subdirectory), upload the files and directories within.
### BEGIN SIGNATURE BLOCK ###
No support requests per PM! You will NOT get any reply!!!
FTP connection problems? Do yourself a favor and read Network Configuration.
FileZilla connection test: https://filezilla-project.org/conntest.php
### END SIGNATURE BLOCK ###

einstein1969
500 Command not understood
Posts: 2
Joined: 2020-06-11 13:20
First name: Francesco
Last name: Poscetti

Re: Problem changing default remote directory

#3 Post by einstein1969 » 2020-06-11 14:41

Thanks!!!! Now work fine.

Post Reply