Issues with Filezilla and Blue Onyx

Need help with FileZilla Client? Something does not work as expected? In this forum you may find an answer.

Moderator: Project members

rfritz@rfei.net
500 Command not understood
First name: Roy
Last name: Fritz

Issues with Filezilla and Blue Onyx

#1 Post by rfritz@rfei.net » 2024-03-10 00:53

I have been using Filezilla for years with no issues until recently. I am on the most recent version 3.66.5. I am an IT tech and very familiar with computers (windows and Linux) and networking. I have 2 older BlueOnyx servers (5106R) that both host multiple virtual websites. I plan to upgrade them to the most recent version of Blue Onyx. A couple months ago I set up a new machine and installed BlueOnyx 5211 with Alma Linux 9.2. This is loaded directly on the server and is not virtualized and was fully patched.

I used FZ to connect to the old server with FTP and copied the entire web directory of one of the larger sites to a network drive on my desktop (Win 10 Pro). I created a new virtual site www2 on the new BlueOnyx server with it's own dedicated IP address. I then tried to ftp the files (1.2 Gb) to the new server with FZ. The first thing I noticed is when connecting it took almost 20 seconds to retrieve the directory listing. When the files started to transfer the first couple files went over ok, then they started to take a long time and after a few seconds transfers started to fail. All transfer were failing at this point. I messed around with it for a while and even tried with my laptop using ethernet, same results. I then tried to just ftp a couple files to the web root directory, same issue. I tried both the hostname and the IP address in FZ. I can ping the server fine 1-3 ms even when files are transferring.