right click menu in queue-no pause/resume/abort??

Need help with FileZilla Client? Something does not work as expected? In this forum you may find an answer.

Moderator: Project members

Message
Author
p0rky9
500 Command not understood
Posts: 4
Joined: 2008-03-27 15:03
First name: Rex
Last name: Reed

right click menu in queue-no pause/resume/abort??

#1 Post by p0rky9 » 2008-03-27 15:13

What happened to the right mouse click context menu with the option to "pause", "resume", or "abort" the selected file in the queue?

In version 2.2.xx it is there but not in the 3.xx versions. I use this menu option very often. Without this option, I find Filezilla very less desireable.

Is there another way to Pause, Resume, or Abort the individual files in the queue?

User avatar
botg
Site Admin
Posts: 33120
Joined: 2004-02-23 20:49
First name: Tim
Last name: Kosse
Contact:

Re: right click menu in queue-no pause/resume/abort??

#2 Post by botg » 2008-03-27 18:25

You could change priority to low.

p0rky9
500 Command not understood
Posts: 4
Joined: 2008-03-27 15:03
First name: Rex
Last name: Reed

Re: right click menu in queue-no pause/resume/abort??

#3 Post by p0rky9 » 2008-03-27 21:27

I do not want to change the priority level. I want to be able to pause it, stopping all internet activity, do something else with the internet connection like access a website, and then resume the FTP again after. Or even if I want to abort just 1 individual file transfer when I have several others in the queue. Or if I want to pause (stop) a very large transfer to allow several small transfers first and then resume the large transfer afterwards.

Are you saying that this request is no longer an option to pause, resume, and abort individual files?

User avatar
botg
Site Admin
Posts: 33120
Joined: 2004-02-23 20:49
First name: Tim
Last name: Kosse
Contact:

Re: right click menu in queue-no pause/resume/abort??

#4 Post by botg » 2008-03-27 21:56

Just stop queue altogether.

p0rky9
500 Command not understood
Posts: 4
Joined: 2008-03-27 15:03
First name: Rex
Last name: Reed

Re: right click menu in queue-no pause/resume/abort??

#5 Post by p0rky9 » 2008-03-31 16:36

I want to be able to do this to individual files and not the entire queue. This was very convenient in ver 2.2.x.

I want to be downloading maybe 2 or 3 files at the same time and then stop 1 file but continue to download the others without stopping them. Then maybe select another smaller file to start downloading and then continue the first stopped file afterwards.

I do not see why this easy to use option would be removed from this wonderful program. Was it just considered trivial in concept to be able to control individual files in a queue? Is that not what a queue is for?

Please, If I need to ask for a feature enhancement request for the next version, where do I place that request?

huhhuhyup
500 Command not understood
Posts: 1
Joined: 2008-04-12 10:01
First name: Joe
Last name: Schmoe

Re: right click menu in queue-no pause/resume/abort??

#6 Post by huhhuhyup » 2008-04-12 10:03

I gotta say this is a vital and basic feature thats missing.

How can an FTP client not be able to stop or pause a transfer? What were you guys thinking?

This is my first time using it and I gotta say the transfer speeds are great but there are too many basic features missing.

p0rky9
500 Command not understood
Posts: 4
Joined: 2008-03-27 15:03
First name: Rex
Last name: Reed

Re: right click menu in queue-no pause/resume/abort??

#7 Post by p0rky9 » 2008-04-18 15:46

Well I came back online today to see so many new revisions released with so many fixes. But alas I was disappointed to find the right click context menu still has not been fixed.

It is very difficult to be downloading more than 1 file and have many more in the queue and have to stop or pause the entire queue to do something else. And if I need to delete just 1 file from the queue, I have to remove every file in the queue and restart each browsing of files to load the queue again with my possibly 20 files queued.

This is really a major fault with this new 3.0 version. I am getting discouraged. How difficult is it to add a context menu to the queue with "Pause" "Remove" "Resume" "Abort" for individual files???

Stefan1200
450 Internal Error
Posts: 38
Joined: 2007-09-27 07:27

Re: right click menu in queue-no pause/resume/abort??

#8 Post by Stefan1200 » 2008-04-20 01:08

p0rky9 wrote:How difficult is it to add a context menu to the queue with "Pause" "Remove" "Resume" "Abort" for individual files???
To add this menu entries are really easy. But I think they should do something, right? ;). So there is much more to code, and I am sure botg has not a short todo list ;).
My website: http://www.stefan1200.de
You looking for a Teamspeak 3 Server Bot? Test my JTS3ServerMod.

superpapi
500 Command not understood
Posts: 4
Joined: 2008-04-20 06:36
First name: rene
Last name: Satos

Re: right click menu in queue-no pause/resume/abort??

#9 Post by superpapi » 2008-04-20 06:57

huhhuhyup wrote:I gotta say this is a vital and basic feature thats missing.

How can an FTP client not be able to stop or pause a transfer? What were you guys thinking?

This is my first time using it and I gotta say the transfer speeds are great but there are too many basic features missing.
I have used filezilla for the first time.
I too think that the pause option should be provided. Sometimes you have to interrupt your transfert and close down your PC and there may still be many files in your queue. If the pause leaves the files in the queue than the next time you open filezilla should be able reactivate the queue to end the transfert. The stop and suppress in the context menu is just too radical.

Beside that I am not so negative for the product and I find it great for my personal use and I congratulate the author.

Superpapi

Stefan1200
450 Internal Error
Posts: 38
Joined: 2007-09-27 07:27

Re: right click menu in queue-no pause/resume/abort??

#10 Post by Stefan1200 » 2008-04-20 22:12

superpapi wrote:I too think that the pause option should be provided. Sometimes you have to interrupt your transfert and close down your PC and there may still be many files in your queue. If the pause leaves the files in the queue than the next time you open filezilla should be able reactivate the queue to end the transfert. The stop and suppress in the context menu is just too radical.
This already works in V3.0.
Simple stop the queue, quit Filezilla, reboot the PC, start Filezilla and resume the queue again.

p0rky9 want to pause a single file to let download the other files in the queue faster and resumes the one file later.
My website: http://www.stefan1200.de
You looking for a Teamspeak 3 Server Bot? Test my JTS3ServerMod.

superpapi
500 Command not understood
Posts: 4
Joined: 2008-04-20 06:36
First name: rene
Last name: Satos

Re: right click menu in queue-no pause/resume/abort??

#11 Post by superpapi » 2008-04-21 12:06

Stefan1200 wrote:
superpapi wrote:I too think that the pause option should be provided. Sometimes you have to interrupt your transfert and close down your PC and there may still be many files in your queue. If the pause leaves the files in the queue than the next time you open filezilla should be able reactivate the queue to end the transfert. The stop and suppress in the context menu is just too radical.
This already works in V3.0.
Simple stop the queue, quit Filezilla, reboot the PC, start Filezilla and resume the queue again.

p0rky9 want to pause a single file to let download the other files in the queue faster and resumes the one file later.
Thanks a lot for your information

Superpapi

nas
500 Command not understood
Posts: 1
Joined: 2009-04-05 07:44

Re: right click in queue-no pause/resume/abort??-8 months latter

#12 Post by nas » 2009-04-05 07:52

Hello ! I am fun of Filezilla Version 2 , Fedora / XP / Vista , and FileZilla Server on XP.

On fedora , and recently on my new tablet with (*&%!@#(^ ) Vista I installed laterst Version 3 of Filezilla client. I thought it would be default the pausing of idividual file transfers, or just pause, and not only Remove as an option ! I read the forum to see if this is a bug / problem / or just doesn't exist, and I saw this post.

well, 1 year latter from the first post, can tou aswer me if

there is any way that this option will be included in a future version, or developer thinks it is useless and never add it again ?

I will continue use filezilla 2 Version until then... even without sftp :/

thank you!

..nas

R2D2
500 Command not understood
Posts: 1
Joined: 2009-05-11 16:06
First name: René
Last name: Diepstraten

Re: right click menu in queue-no pause/resume/abort??

#13 Post by R2D2 » 2009-05-11 16:09

I'd say, let's consider this a feature request, because I miss this function as well.
And let's be thankful for a beautiful product already :D

[edit] I've created a trac ticket with a feature request, the official way.

cypherinfo
504 Command not implemented
Posts: 10
Joined: 2009-10-21 15:31
First name: g.
Last name: c.

Re: right click menu in queue-no pause/resume/abort??

#14 Post by cypherinfo » 2010-07-23 13:09

Hello, I agree here. For big donload as for those involving a web site ftp transfer it is needed to pause and afterward to resume the transfer.

More in my 3.3.3 there iks no feature to stop the queue!!

I too consider mine, like the previous ones, a feature request.


Thank you.



Cypherinfo.

User avatar
boco
Contributor
Posts: 25241
Joined: 2006-05-01 03:28
Location: Germany

Re: right click menu in queue-no pause/resume/abort??

#15 Post by boco » 2010-07-23 14:44

More in my 3.3.3 there iks no feature to stop the queue!!
Wrong, look harder. It's called "Process queue". This is a 'toggle' option.
### BEGIN SIGNATURE BLOCK ###
No support requests per PM! You will NOT get any reply!!!
FTP connection problems? Do yourself a favor and read Network Configuration.
FileZilla connection test: https://filezilla-project.org/conntest.php
### END SIGNATURE BLOCK ###

Post Reply