FileZilla Forums

Welcome to the official discussion forums for FileZilla
Donate to project
It is currently 2014-04-21 07:21

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: 2008-09-27 05:58 
Offline
500 Command not understood

Joined: 2008-09-27 05:52
Posts: 2
Dear All,

I get the following message when I tried to login through Filezilla.
"Connection attempt failed with "EAI_NONAME - Neither nodename nor servname provided, or not known".

Would you please help me out to solve this issue. Thanks all.

Thanks again,
Dave Jackson


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 2008-09-27 08:05 
Offline
226 Transfer OK

Joined: 2005-11-02 06:41
Posts: 619
Name resolution error. Your hostname is invalid. It's not resolving through DNS to any network location. Check for spelling errors or try using the IP address or the FQDN of the host.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 2008-09-27 10:08 
Offline
500 Command not understood

Joined: 2008-09-27 05:52
Posts: 2
Thank you so much. It was a spelling mistake. I am really sorry.
Sorry again!

Thanks,
Dave Jackson


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 2008-10-05 05:25 
Offline
500 Command not understood

Joined: 2008-10-05 05:22
Posts: 3
Hi,

I get the same message:

"Connection attempt failed with "EAI_NONAME - Neither nodename nor servname provided, or not known"

I can connect via my IP address, but not by the .asia domain name.

What could be the problem?

Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 2008-10-05 09:37 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: 2004-02-23 20:49
Posts: 22541
Mox, any non-ASCII characters in the host name?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 2008-10-05 17:57 
Offline
500 Command not understood

Joined: 2008-10-05 05:22
Posts: 3
No, just ftp.url.asia

I was wondering if the dot asia URL extension was not supported.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 2008-10-05 19:05 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: 2004-02-23 20:49
Posts: 22541
Quote:
Status: Resolving address of ftp.url.asia
Status: Connecting to 64.202.189.170:21...


Working fine here. What's your operating system? Do you DNS servers support .asia?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 2008-10-05 19:08 
Offline
500 Command not understood

Joined: 2008-10-05 05:22
Posts: 3
Actually, the site is now offline...must be something else going on here!

Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 2008-11-02 07:41 
Offline
500 Command not understood

Joined: 2008-11-02 07:33
Posts: 1
Hi I get the same message "Connection attempt failed with "EAI_NONAME - Neither nodename nor servname provided, or not known"" and my host name has hyphens in it, do I take it they are not supported and if so what do I do?

Many thanks

Warren.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 2008-11-02 12:53 
Offline
226 Transfer OK
User avatar

Joined: 2006-05-01 03:28
Posts: 19658
Location: Germany
Maybe you should try this:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Percent-encoding - Aww scratch that...

_________________
### BEGIN SIGNATURE BLOCK ###
FTP connection problems? Do yourself a favor and read Network Configuration.
All FileZilla products fully support IPv6. http://worldipv6launch.org
All support requests per PM will be ignored!
### END SIGNATURE BLOCK ###


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 2008-11-02 13:49 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: 2004-02-23 20:49
Posts: 22541
In domain names? I don't think so.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 2008-11-14 12:27 
Offline
500 Command not understood
User avatar

Joined: 2008-11-14 12:20
Posts: 2
I'm running int the same trouble: "EAI_NONAME - Neither nodename nor servname provided, or not known"
ftp-url is keen.kilu.de (so no issue with the name I guess) and I am behind a proxy. Of course I have configured FileZilla to use a proxy, in my case Generic => SOCKS5 as this is the one provided here (besides the www-proxy). I've downloaded several trial versons of other FTP-Clients and using this SOCKS5 proxy works fine in CuteFTP & Co. So what might be the problem with FileZilla?

edit: it looks like it cannot resolve the PROXY! But still I don't knw why that is and how to fix it (except tracing proxy IP and entering it manually, but that's an awful) solution


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 2009-01-03 20:36 
Offline
500 Command not understood

Joined: 2009-01-03 20:29
Posts: 1
Hello there :)

I'm also having this problem although I can log trough the server IP. I'm not really getting it because the domain is not viewable trough http either and i've double checked for typos and just about anything I could think of.

Could it be related to the domain registar and DNS propagation? I've never seen that before so I can't think of anything else so far. Any help is appreciated.

it's .org domain (not mine I'm only hosting a friend) but I've got .com,.net and .org domains each one with their own cpanel... it has never happened before. thank you in advance!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 2009-01-05 06:14 
Offline
226 Transfer OK

Joined: 2005-11-02 06:41
Posts: 619
mitzrael wrote:
Hello there :)

I'm also having this problem although I can log trough the server IP.


Of course you can. It's not an IP error or a routing error. It's a DNS error.

Quote:
I'm not really getting it because the domain is not viewable trough http either and i've double checked for typos and just about anything I could think of.

Could it be related to the domain registar and DNS propagation?


That's quite possible, and very common. DNS propagation takes between 1 and 3 days, typically.

Quote:
I've never seen that before so I can't think of anything else so far. Any help is appreciated.

it's .org domain (not mine I'm only hosting a friend) but I've got .com,.net and .org domains each one with their own cpanel... it has never happened before. thank you in advance!


Drop to a command line and use nslookup.exe to see if the server hostname resolves, or try a web-based versiom:

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/200525

http://www.zoneedit.com/lookup.html
http://dnstools.com/
http://member.dnsstuff.com/pages/tools.php?ptype=free


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 2009-01-20 16:42 
Offline
500 Command not understood

Joined: 2009-01-20 16:35
Posts: 1
I receive this massage:
Connection attempt failed with "EAI_NONAME - Neither nodename nor servname provided, or not known"

I believe it has to do with DNS error. I dont know what to do, I am new.

Can somebody tell me what to do please?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Dedicated server provided by Artmotion.
Forum sponsored by Everyware.ch.
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group