FileZilla Client feature request: Set default FTP protocol

Moderator: Project members

Message
Author
sebz
500 Command not understood
Posts: 3
Joined: 2013-02-22 09:49
First name: Seb
Last name: Camp

Re: FileZilla Client feature request: Set default FTP protoc

#16 Post by sebz » 2013-02-22 11:27

sebz wrote:Hi
Those registry tricks are great and it works fine most of the time, I found something that causes troubles though is if there are some weird characters in the password string. For example :
If I click on the ftp link :
ftp://SC07ea4a:im}GF4hr@myftpsite/
then filezila reports error 530 incorrect login. It seems the password string being passed is not correct(maybe escaped or something else, I don't know as the password in the console is crypted with ***). I guess this is due to the character } in the password string.
Another test I have done is try to run in command line like :
"C:\Program Files (x86)\FileZilla FTP Client\filezilla.exe" "ftp://SC07ea4a:im}GF4hr@myftpsite/"
And this command works fine so I am not sure what can cause this. By the way, I am running under Windows 7 x64 edition.
Do you have any idea on how to make this work ?
Thanks a lot for your help !!
I found that indeed the string for password is being changed somewhere in the process. Character } is changed to %7D (which corresponds to its hexadecimal value):
following is passed :
"ftp://SC07ea4a:im%7DGF4hr@myftpsite/"
instead of :
"ftp://SC07ea4a:im}GF4hr@myftpsite/"
I still can't find where this is being changed...

User avatar
boco
Contributor
Posts: 24152
Joined: 2006-05-01 03:28
Location: Germany

Re: FileZilla Client feature request: Set default FTP protoc

#17 Post by boco » 2013-02-22 11:44

The browser HTML-encoded it, because that character is not allowed in URLs.
### BEGIN SIGNATURE BLOCK ###
No support requests per PM! You will NOT get any reply!!!
FTP connection problems? Do yourself a favor and read Network Configuration.
All FileZilla products fully support IPv6. http://worldipv6launch.org
### END SIGNATURE BLOCK ###

sebz
500 Command not understood
Posts: 3
Joined: 2013-02-22 09:49
First name: Seb
Last name: Camp

Re: FileZilla Client feature request: Set default FTP protoc

#18 Post by sebz » 2013-02-22 16:38

boco wrote:The browser HTML-encoded it, because that character is not allowed in URLs.
Hi
Thanks for your reply but is there a way to pass the complete url string to filezilla without encoding it ?

User avatar
boco
Contributor
Posts: 24152
Joined: 2006-05-01 03:28
Location: Germany

Re: FileZilla Client feature request: Set default FTP protoc

#19 Post by boco » 2013-02-24 13:14

Not when going through a browser or the system shell. The chars are encoded because they would otherwise break the URL.
### BEGIN SIGNATURE BLOCK ###
No support requests per PM! You will NOT get any reply!!!
FTP connection problems? Do yourself a favor and read Network Configuration.
All FileZilla products fully support IPv6. http://worldipv6launch.org
### END SIGNATURE BLOCK ###

Post Reply