FileZilla Architectural Documentation

Moderator: Project members

JohnChuck
504 Command not implemented

FileZilla Architectural Documentation

#1 Post by JohnChuck » 2007-04-03 05:56

Hello my name is Juan C Moreno and I'm doing my Masters in Computer Science.
I'm currently taking a Software Architecture course, and I have chosen FileZilla for
my final project.

In this project I have to derive, compare and evaluate documented or conceptual
architectures vs. the actual architectures; which are to be derived from the source
code itself, and also provide any helpful input if I can.

Through this method I would like to request if possible any architectural
documentation on the FileZilla project.

I look forward to being able to contribute to this community.
Thank you.

botg
Site Admin
First name: Tim
Last name: Kosse

#2 Post by botg » 2007-04-04 17:52

For the most part, the source is its own architectural documentation.

For FileZilla 3 I've tried to keep ftp engine separated from the user interface, so that the engine will be reusable. More details about how it all evolved can be found in the development diary: http://filezilla.sourceforge.net/forum/ ... c.php?t=64

JohnChuck

#3 Post by JohnChuck » 2007-04-05 17:11

Ok

Well thanks for the link I'LL check it out.

JohnChuck

#4 Post by JohnChuck » 2007-05-15 18:05

I haven't forgotten about this.

And I would like to ask a few questions about the project.

botg

What is your vision about the end product?
What is the feature set that you would like this product to offer?
What are the requirements that FZ3 should meet in order to stay true to your vision?

No answer is too long, and no answer is too short.
All input provided will be greatly appreciated.

I hope to be able to provide you in the next few days with at least a rough draft of the architecture.

Thank you

botg
Site Admin

#5 Post by botg » 2007-05-15 20:30

My vision? Hmm, world domination, at least. ;)