FileZilla as a general FTP library

Moderator: Project members

quark
500 Syntax error
First name: Asbjørn
Last name: Ulsberg

FileZilla as a general FTP library

#1 Post by quark » 2004-09-18 16:21

Hi, I've used FileZilla as my favourite FTP application for quite a while, and admire its amazing functionality.

As I'm a programmer myself, I often run into situation where I need FTP support. And then I always find myself wanting to use FileZilla as a base FTP component in my system, because it supports just about everything I need.

My problem is that I program in C#.NET, and thus can't use the FileZilla source code directly, even though it's open source. Even if it was possible to use it directly, I wouldn't know where to start when looking at the source code, since I can't even get it to compile in VS.NET (I try to compile it as C++, of course).

Would it be possible to wrap the FileZilla code in C# using P/Invoke so we would get the best free .NET FTP library in existance?

I would be very interested in collaborating in this work, as I've got a lot of C# and .NET experience. I have no C or C++ experience, though, so I need help to make it all glued together.
«Just because the fuck has a library card, it doesn't make him Yoda» - Detective David Mills, Se7en.

botg
Site Admin
First name: Tim
Last name: Kosse

#2 Post by botg » 2004-09-18 17:35

It will be possible to compile the engine behind FZ3 as library for use in wxWidgets applications.
C# I won't ever touch, it's made by the devil.

quark
500 Syntax error

#3 Post by quark » 2004-09-18 18:36

Disregard your personal opinions of C#, don't you think it would be great to be able to use FZ in as many environments as possible? C# and .NET happens to be a wildly popular development framework, and I think FZ would be a great addition to the existing available codebase on the platform.