How do I find out what my "host" is?

Have the feeling that everybody is staring at you in the other forums? Then look here, in this forum nobody does care what you say ;-)

Moderator: Project members

Post Reply
Message
Author
pawsafoot
500 Command not understood
Posts: 2
Joined: 2013-03-21 23:14
First name: Lise
Last name: Lausiva

How do I find out what my "host" is?

#1 Post by pawsafoot » 2013-03-21 23:41

I just downloaded Filezilla and I'm totally new to this so please forgive my complete ineptness at how to do this. The Filezilla client page opened and I have to enter something in the "host" box. I have no idea what I'm supposed to enter in here or how to get the host information so I can't connect to the server. I've searched everywhere for an answer to this and haven't found an answer to this. I"ve got my username, password and typed 21 in the "Port" box, so all I need is whatever I'm supposed to type in the "host" box :?: . Can anyone help me with this? Thanks!

User avatar
boco
Contributor
Posts: 25109
Joined: 2006-05-01 03:28
Location: Germany

Re: How do I find out what my "host" is?

#2 Post by boco » 2013-03-21 23:51

The hostname is the FTP server URL. You should have gotten this along with the other login data. If you didn't, you need to ask your hosting support.

You could try your website url (without http://) for starters.
### BEGIN SIGNATURE BLOCK ###
No support requests per PM! You will NOT get any reply!!!
FTP connection problems? Do yourself a favor and read Network Configuration.
FileZilla connection test: https://filezilla-project.org/conntest.php
### END SIGNATURE BLOCK ###

pawsafoot
500 Command not understood
Posts: 2
Joined: 2013-03-21 23:14
First name: Lise
Last name: Lausiva

Re: How do I find out what my "host" is?

#3 Post by pawsafoot » 2013-03-22 01:49

No wonder I couldn't find it. I'll give them a call. Thanks so much for your quick help!

ComputerColumbus
500 Command not understood
Posts: 5
Joined: 2015-09-21 01:44

Re: How do I find out what my "host" is?

#4 Post by ComputerColumbus » 2015-09-21 02:49

I'm also confused about who the host is. Isn't the whole point of FileZilla Server to host your own website from your local server? Do I need to purchase a hosting plan from GoDaddy or other company? Please let me know.

User avatar
boco
Contributor
Posts: 25109
Joined: 2006-05-01 03:28
Location: Germany

Re: How do I find out what my "host" is?

#5 Post by boco » 2015-09-21 13:45

If you want to host files yourself then you become the host. By default FileZilla Server tries to listen on all IPs the server computer has assigned. In other words, the IP of the server is what goes into the Hostname field.

For actually making the server world-accessible, there's more to do (Network Configuration). For getting an actual domain name you'd need to use a Dynamic DNS service.
### BEGIN SIGNATURE BLOCK ###
No support requests per PM! You will NOT get any reply!!!
FTP connection problems? Do yourself a favor and read Network Configuration.
FileZilla connection test: https://filezilla-project.org/conntest.php
### END SIGNATURE BLOCK ###

Post Reply