Cannot get IP address.

Need help with FileZilla Server? Something does not work as expected? In this forum you may find an answer.

Moderator: Project members

Post Reply
Message
Author
mercury
500 Command not understood
Posts: 5
Joined: 2020-07-30 23:50
First name: Mai
Last name: Kagura

Cannot get IP address.

#1 Post by mercury » 2020-07-31 00:22

I'm getting the IP address used in passive mode from an external source, but I can't get it properly after 0.9.51.
The log shows Entering Passive Mode (0,0,0,10,*,*).
It has been successfully acquired up to 0.9.50.

User avatar
boco
Contributor
Posts: 25241
Joined: 2006-05-01 03:28
Location: Germany

Re: Cannot get IP address.

#2 Post by boco » 2020-07-31 02:32

First, always use the latest (0.9.60 ATM), issues will not be resolved for older versions.

How are you getting it? If you use the "Retrieve" option, the site must print the IP as literal text.
I'm not completely certain, but it might be that FileZilla Server (the code is very outdated right now) does not support HTTPS webpages as source. The default entry is plain HTTP. If your external source has switched to forced HTTPS (HSTS), and redirects http to https, it could be no longer working.

@botg: Does FZ Server support HTTPS Retrieve targets?
### BEGIN SIGNATURE BLOCK ###
No support requests per PM! You will NOT get any reply!!!
FTP connection problems? Do yourself a favor and read Network Configuration.
FileZilla connection test: https://filezilla-project.org/conntest.php
### END SIGNATURE BLOCK ###

User avatar
botg
Site Admin
Posts: 33122
Joined: 2004-02-23 20:49
First name: Tim
Last name: Kosse
Contact:

Re: Cannot get IP address.

#3 Post by botg » 2020-07-31 08:05

@boco: No. Maybe in a future version.

mercury
500 Command not understood
Posts: 5
Joined: 2020-07-30 23:50
First name: Mai
Last name: Kagura

Re: Cannot get IP address.

#4 Post by mercury » 2020-07-31 17:17

Hmmm
I got the IP address on my site, I did not use HTTPS, I output it in plain text.
However, it becomes 0,0,0,10.

User avatar
boco
Contributor
Posts: 25241
Joined: 2006-05-01 03:28
Location: Germany

Re: Cannot get IP address.

#5 Post by boco » 2020-07-31 19:31

If you visit your site in a browser (http://), does it automatically load the HTTPS version?

I couldn't find anything in the Server 0.9.50 to 0.9.51 version history that would explain that.
### BEGIN SIGNATURE BLOCK ###
No support requests per PM! You will NOT get any reply!!!
FTP connection problems? Do yourself a favor and read Network Configuration.
FileZilla connection test: https://filezilla-project.org/conntest.php
### END SIGNATURE BLOCK ###

mercury
500 Command not understood
Posts: 5
Joined: 2020-07-30 23:50
First name: Mai
Last name: Kagura

Re: Cannot get IP address.

#6 Post by mercury » 2020-08-01 06:28

Is it my site?
I use only HTTP, not HTTPS.

User avatar
boco
Contributor
Posts: 25241
Joined: 2006-05-01 03:28
Location: Germany

Re: Cannot get IP address.

#7 Post by boco » 2020-08-02 00:09

Please try if it works when using the default entry.
### BEGIN SIGNATURE BLOCK ###
No support requests per PM! You will NOT get any reply!!!
FTP connection problems? Do yourself a favor and read Network Configuration.
FileZilla connection test: https://filezilla-project.org/conntest.php
### END SIGNATURE BLOCK ###

mercury
500 Command not understood
Posts: 5
Joined: 2020-07-30 23:50
First name: Mai
Last name: Kagura

Re: Cannot get IP address.

#8 Post by mercury » 2020-08-02 19:49

It seems to succeed by default.
Hmm?
I confirmed that it failed before posting.

I'm running my site with a simple Perl script.
print "Content-type:text/plain\n\n$ENV{REMOTE_ADDR}\n";
Why does this fail?
What am I missing here?

I was able to get the IP address, but it is failing to open the data connection.
There may be a problem with the test site (https://ftptest.net/), but I'm not sure.
It's weird, even though it's all successful at 0.9.50.
If you know of any good testing sites, please let me know.

User avatar
botg
Site Admin
Posts: 33122
Joined: 2004-02-23 20:49
First name: Tim
Last name: Kosse
Contact:

Re: Cannot get IP address.

#9 Post by botg » 2020-08-03 07:21

Your script is wrong. HTTP uses CRLF as separator between header lines. Furthermore, the canonical form for header lines includes a space between the colon and the value.

Last but not least, you need to set the Content-Length header to force use of the identity transfer encoding, FileZilla Server does not support the chunked transfer encoding.

mercury
500 Command not understood
Posts: 5
Joined: 2020-07-30 23:50
First name: Mai
Last name: Kagura

Re: Cannot get IP address.

#10 Post by mercury » 2020-08-04 10:17

HM.
Format analysis is strict.
I understand that, but why is it allowed in 0.9.50?
Did you change that in 0.9.51?

Post Reply