Move Server to new hardware

Need help with FileZilla Server? Something does not work as expected? In this forum you may find an answer.

Moderator: Project members

Post Reply
Message
Author
schubert1979
500 Command not understood
Posts: 2
Joined: 2009-04-07 17:06
First name: Michael
Last name: Schubert

Move Server to new hardware

#1 Post by schubert1979 » 2009-04-07 17:10

I've had FileZilla server running for a while now, and I've created many user accounts that all point to different folders per requests of the end users. Now I want to move FileZilla to a new physical server. Is there a way to transfer all the account settings and such to a new box? I can keep the same IP addressing and drive letters without issue. Thanks.

User avatar
botg
Site Admin
Posts: 33053
Joined: 2004-02-23 20:49
First name: Tim
Last name: Kosse
Contact:

Re: Move Server to new hardware

#2 Post by botg » 2009-04-07 19:09

Just copy FileZilla Server.xml

schubert1979
500 Command not understood
Posts: 2
Joined: 2009-04-07 17:06
First name: Michael
Last name: Schubert

Re: Move Server to new hardware

#3 Post by schubert1979 » 2009-04-07 19:23

Holy Cow.. Thanks.

rswift
500 Command not understood
Posts: 4
Joined: 2011-06-01 22:40

Re: Move Server to new hardware

#4 Post by rswift » 2011-06-01 23:00

The company has had a FileZilla server running for a couple years and is in the process of consolidating servers to save money. I have downloaded and installed the latest version, 9.37and I think the old version is 9.2?. I have already moved the old data and Filezilla server.xml to the new install and renamed the new install filezilla server.xml to filezilla server.old. This did not work. it still showed up as only one user that I created upon install to direct to the new folders and test it.

Rswift

User avatar
boco
Contributor
Posts: 25189
Joined: 2006-05-01 03:28
Location: Germany

Re: Move Server to new hardware

#5 Post by boco » 2011-06-02 01:41

Did you restart the server service or run the "FileZilla Server.exe" /reload-config command after copying the XML?
### BEGIN SIGNATURE BLOCK ###
No support requests per PM! You will NOT get any reply!!!
FTP connection problems? Do yourself a favor and read Network Configuration.
FileZilla connection test: https://filezilla-project.org/conntest.php
### END SIGNATURE BLOCK ###

rswift
500 Command not understood
Posts: 4
Joined: 2011-06-01 22:40

Re: Move Server to new hardware

#6 Post by rswift » 2011-06-02 01:43

No I did not. Nobody said to do that. I will try it.
Thanks

rswift
500 Command not understood
Posts: 4
Joined: 2011-06-01 22:40

Re: Move Server to new hardware

#7 Post by rswift » 2011-06-02 01:59

Boco:
I restarted the FileZilla FTP server service after trying to run the FileZilla Server.exe" /reload-config, which did not work and says that it is an invalid command. so I tried running it from the RUN line also. Did not work. Restarting the service did not work either. Any other ideas?

rswift
500 Command not understood
Posts: 4
Joined: 2011-06-01 22:40

Re: Move Server to new hardware

#8 Post by rswift » 2011-06-02 02:15

Boco:
I got it to work after completely deleting the new XML file and restarting the service.
The first time around I just renamed the XML file, and it did not work. Thanks for the help
rswift

Nadeem
500 Command not understood
Posts: 1
Joined: 2011-09-07 06:42
First name: Nadeem
Last name: Ansari

Re: Move Server to new hardware

#9 Post by Nadeem » 2011-09-07 06:48

After moving a file I can see the old accounts but When I connect to filezilla server it does not list me the aliases folder.
:?:
I also need to set the alias folder should redirect to users directory.

Post Reply