create user account with command line

Need help with FileZilla Server? Something does not work as expected? In this forum you may find an answer.

Moderator: Project members

Post Reply
Message
Author
Krap
500 Command not understood
Posts: 1
Joined: 2006-07-13 14:40

create user account with command line

#1 Post by Krap » 2006-07-13 14:43

Hy all!

it's possible to create a user account with command line?
i must do this in a php script for example.

Thank s

User avatar
botg
Site Admin
Posts: 32596
Joined: 2004-02-23 20:49
First name: Tim
Last name: Kosse
Contact:

#2 Post by botg » 2006-07-13 16:02

Please search the forums. You can edit the xml file manually and then call "FileZilla Server.exe" /reload-config

timstudd
500 Command not understood
Posts: 2
Joined: 2006-07-19 19:00

#3 Post by timstudd » 2006-07-19 19:07

What if one wanted to create a new user remotely - from another server but doesn't have access to modify the xml file or to run the command to reload-config?

cooperspc
226 Transfer OK
Posts: 94
Joined: 2005-10-21 15:21
Location: Indiana USA
Contact:

#4 Post by cooperspc » 2006-07-19 19:27

if you don't have access, why would you want to add a ftp user :twisted:

there are 2 ways to add users remotely

1)with the server interface setup though a open port

2)with php, with the vbs in the forum or with code to modify the xml

with the php you just need to know where the xml file is and if the safe mode of php off it's easy

timstudd
500 Command not understood
Posts: 2
Joined: 2006-07-19 19:00

#5 Post by timstudd » 2006-07-19 19:50

You didn't understand my question - lets say that I have one central server. I have other servers which all run FTP servers. I want to be able to create a user on them remotely without having to log into the computer. I can't use the existing interface remotely because it has to be automated and since FZS is not running on the local (centeral) server, I cannot simply modify the xml (using php or cfm) and run the reload-config shell command. So - is there anything I can do?

Pontiac
500 Command not understood
Posts: 3
Joined: 2006-07-24 02:00

#6 Post by Pontiac » 2006-07-24 02:03

By the looks of it, from what was read just in this thread, the only thing that I can think of is have a program sit in the background on your, how can I put it... Client servers... that periodically reads a file on your central server. If theres a change to the file, update the XML file on your client servers, based on whats on the central server.

This would mean you would have to have either a web server, or an FTP account on your central server for the client servers to get its information.

TomTheOne
500 Command not understood
Posts: 4
Joined: 2019-11-04 00:49
First name: Thomas
Last name: Huerlimann

Re:

#7 Post by TomTheOne » 2019-12-12 09:52

timstudd wrote:
2006-07-19 19:50
So - is there anything I can do?
Here is a binary that helps you to manage users remotely. Windows only.
https://sourceforge.net/projects/thufilezillaapi/

User avatar
boco
Contributor
Posts: 24902
Joined: 2006-05-01 03:28
Location: Germany

Re: create user account with command line

#8 Post by boco » 2019-12-12 10:23

Please don't necro anciant topics.
### BEGIN SIGNATURE BLOCK ###
No support requests per PM! You will NOT get any reply!!!
FTP connection problems? Do yourself a favor and read Network Configuration.
All FileZilla products fully support IPv6. http://worldipv6launch.org
### END SIGNATURE BLOCK ###

Post Reply