Server Configuration

Need help with FileZilla Server? Something does not work as expected? In this forum you may find an answer.

Moderator: Project members

Post Reply
Message
Author
TheCanarian
500 Command not understood
Posts: 2
Joined: 2018-06-14 15:08
First name: Peter
Last name: Usher

Server Configuration

#1 Post by TheCanarian » 2018-06-14 15:27

Hi,
I'm having trouble configuring the correct items for the server installation. I've just downloaded the software (0.9.60 Beta) and trying to get the "fptest.net" test site to work to confirm the installation.
I'm using a BT Home Hub 5, and BT is my internet provider. I have 2 PC's configured on the LAN behind the router and FileZilla Server is on one of them. I have set up an anonymous account on the server and I believe I've followed the Network Configuration instructions, but something ain't kosher. The "Settings" version I'm using only has an input screen for Passive Mode settings and none for Active.
I've tried all the IP nos. I can find off the admin screen on my router and all are getting timed out by the FileZilla test site …. they are also getting timed out when I'm using "Ping" from the cmd box (?).
I've set my Bullguard Firewall to allow FileZilla through and the Windows 10 firewall too. I've generated a security certificate but when I've used the internet address (ip.filezilla-project.org/ip.php) retrieve the external IP address, to check it's getting it, it gets totally blocked by the OS.

Help
Peter

User avatar
botg
Site Admin
Posts: 31510
Joined: 2004-02-23 20:49
First name: Tim
Last name: Kosse
Contact:

Re: Server Configuration

#2 Post by botg » 2018-06-14 21:16

Does your IP allow hosting servers? Some bad ones don't and block each and every incoming connection.

Have you tried bypassing your router by plugging your computer directly into your modem instead?

User avatar
boco
Contributor
Posts: 24118
Joined: 2006-05-01 03:28
Location: Germany

Re: Server Configuration

#3 Post by boco » 2018-06-15 01:19

By the way, the Active part of the Network Configuration guide only applies to the FTP Client, while the Passive part only applies to the server.
### BEGIN SIGNATURE BLOCK ###
No support requests per PM! You will NOT get any reply!!!
FTP connection problems? Do yourself a favor and read Network Configuration.
All FileZilla products fully support IPv6. http://worldipv6launch.org
### END SIGNATURE BLOCK ###

TheCanarian
500 Command not understood
Posts: 2
Joined: 2018-06-14 15:08
First name: Peter
Last name: Usher

Re: Server Configuration

#4 Post by TheCanarian » 2018-06-16 15:18

As BT are the biggest internet providers in the UK I would expect them to allow server hosts, but I'll do some research to try and find out. I'm not able to plug in directly to the modem I believe the BT Home Hub acts as both router and modem in one unit......well I've only got the one piece of kit.

User avatar
boco
Contributor
Posts: 24118
Joined: 2006-05-01 03:28
Location: Germany

Re: Server Configuration

#5 Post by boco » 2018-06-17 01:16

Distinct modems and routers are rare, nowadays. Usually, you will get a combo device from the ISP, including both. In this case, you could try bridging the device (if it allows that). That's doing exactly what botg said - bypassing the router part.

Note that ISPs, especially big ones, offer consumer as well as business contracts. Often, running servers is forbidden in the former, and incoming ports are blocked. The latter are more expensive, but allow the aforementioned things (and assign a static public IP).
### BEGIN SIGNATURE BLOCK ###
No support requests per PM! You will NOT get any reply!!!
FTP connection problems? Do yourself a favor and read Network Configuration.
All FileZilla products fully support IPv6. http://worldipv6launch.org
### END SIGNATURE BLOCK ###

Post Reply