Cant Create A Folder In Root Domain

Post all HTML related questions here. No support.

Moderator: Project members

Post Reply
Message
Author
kelvinj
500 Command not understood
Posts: 4
Joined: 2013-06-30 15:49
First name: Kelvin
Last name: Johnstone

Cant Create A Folder In Root Domain

#1 Post by kelvinj » 2013-06-30 15:55

When I right clock on my root folder, and select "create a new folder" the folder appears but is inactive. Can anyone provide me with some direction?

Thanks,

Kelvin

User avatar
boco
Contributor
Posts: 25332
Joined: 2006-05-01 03:28
Location: Germany

Re: Cant Create A Folder In Root Domain

#2 Post by boco » 2013-06-30 20:18

What do you mean by 'inactive'? It should prompt for you to enter the directory name, and then attempt to create it.

Could you show a screenshot of what you mean?
### BEGIN SIGNATURE BLOCK ###
No support requests per PM! You will NOT get any reply!!!
FTP connection problems? Do yourself a favor and read Network Configuration.
FileZilla connection test: https://filezilla-project.org/conntest.php
### END SIGNATURE BLOCK ###

kelvinj
500 Command not understood
Posts: 4
Joined: 2013-06-30 15:49
First name: Kelvin
Last name: Johnstone

Re: Cant Create A Folder In Root Domain

#3 Post by kelvinj » 2013-06-30 21:31

Thanks...

Attached is a screen shot. You can see that the "recommended" folder is a different icon than the others ie wp-content etc.

It will not allow to place an "index.php" file in it.

Thanks,

Kelvin
Attachments
Filezilla.jpg
Filezilla.jpg (8.73 KiB) Viewed 5689 times

User avatar
boco
Contributor
Posts: 25332
Joined: 2006-05-01 03:28
Location: Germany

Re: Cant Create A Folder In Root Domain

#4 Post by boco » 2013-07-01 18:00

Did you accidentally use ''Create new file''?
### BEGIN SIGNATURE BLOCK ###
No support requests per PM! You will NOT get any reply!!!
FTP connection problems? Do yourself a favor and read Network Configuration.
FileZilla connection test: https://filezilla-project.org/conntest.php
### END SIGNATURE BLOCK ###

kelvinj
500 Command not understood
Posts: 4
Joined: 2013-06-30 15:49
First name: Kelvin
Last name: Johnstone

Re: Cant Create A Folder In Root Domain

#5 Post by kelvinj » 2013-07-02 11:44

It provides 2 options:

(1) Create a new file
(2) Create a new directory

Should be using new directory?

User avatar
boco
Contributor
Posts: 25332
Joined: 2006-05-01 03:28
Location: Germany

Re: Cant Create A Folder In Root Domain

#6 Post by boco » 2013-07-02 17:29

Yes, of course. FileZilla doesn't use the word ''folder'', as that's a Microsoft invention.

Directory = Folder
File=File
### BEGIN SIGNATURE BLOCK ###
No support requests per PM! You will NOT get any reply!!!
FTP connection problems? Do yourself a favor and read Network Configuration.
FileZilla connection test: https://filezilla-project.org/conntest.php
### END SIGNATURE BLOCK ###

kelvinj
500 Command not understood
Posts: 4
Joined: 2013-06-30 15:49
First name: Kelvin
Last name: Johnstone

Re: Cant Create A Folder In Root Domain

#7 Post by kelvinj » 2013-07-03 11:46

Thanks for your help!

Post Reply