How do check digital signature or hash of install file?

Come here to discuss FileZilla and FTP in general

Moderator: Project members

Huyly
500 Command not understood

How do check digital signature or hash of install file?

#1 Post by Huyly » 2010-05-11 07:27

I searched first but didn't find an answer to this question. Also I'm a newbie with first post and don't understand a lot of this, so go easy on me, please :?

I just downloaded the install file and saw that it was not digitally signed. Why is that? When I download Firefox and some others, it has digital signature, so I thought it would be with this, too.

In any case, so my computer warns me it is risky and asks me if I want to install it anyway. So I deferred until I could look at the site some more, and I see there is displayed for reference an SHA-512 file hash.

What kind of program do I need to generate a SHA-512 hash of the download file to see that it matches? I found one that must be old and only does MD5 and SHA1 as part of Win XP. Thanks for info on this.

botg
Site Admin
First name: Tim
Last name: Kosse

Re: How do check digital signature or hash of install file?

#2 Post by botg » 2010-05-11 18:11

What meaning does a signature carry on its own if you do not know the authenticity of the signer?

To check the provided SHA-512 hash you can use sha512sum, it's part of the GNU coreutils.

boco
Contributor

#3 Post by boco » 2010-05-11 20:18

I use HashTab for checking SHA512.
No support requests over PM! You will NOT get any reply!!!
FTP connection problems? Please read Network Configuration.
FileZilla connection test: https://filezilla-project.org/conntest.php
FileZilla Pro support: https://customerforum.fileZilla-project.org

Huyly

#4 Post by Huyly » 2010-05-12 02:52

botg wrote:What meaning does a signature carry on its own if you do not know the authenticity of the signer?