FTP Host Header

Need help with FileZilla Client? Something does not work as expected? In this forum you may find an answer.

Moderator: Project members

Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
Jack99
500 Command not understood
Posts: 3
Joined: 2011-09-27 13:14
Location: Germany

FTP Host Header

#1 Post by Jack99 » 2011-09-27 13:24

Hello everybody,

yes I know that the FTP protocol, specified by RFC 959, does not support the host header.
But the Microsoft FTP-Server 7.0 and greater support this.
Here the source

Now my Question:

What is with the FileZilla Client. Does it support host headers?
If not, when will this be possible.

With kind regards,
Jack99 :wink:

User avatar
boco
Contributor
Posts: 25282
Joined: 2006-05-01 03:28
Location: Germany

Re: FTP Host Header

#2 Post by boco » 2011-09-27 13:30

Not supported. And unless there will be a standard defined by the IETF, there's an almost zero chance for this to be implemented.
### BEGIN SIGNATURE BLOCK ###
No support requests per PM! You will NOT get any reply!!!
FTP connection problems? Do yourself a favor and read Network Configuration.
FileZilla connection test: https://filezilla-project.org/conntest.php
### END SIGNATURE BLOCK ###

User avatar
Jack99
500 Command not understood
Posts: 3
Joined: 2011-09-27 13:14
Location: Germany

Re: FTP Host Header

#3 Post by Jack99 » 2011-09-27 13:47

All right, thank you for the answer! :wink:

User avatar
botg
Site Admin
Posts: 33177
Joined: 2004-02-23 20:49
First name: Tim
Last name: Kosse
Contact:

Re: FTP Host Header

#4 Post by botg » 2011-09-27 21:30

Just get IPv6 and you won't need HOST anymore. HOST is just trying to treat the symptoms instead of curing the underlying disease of not having a distinct IP address for every hostname.

User avatar
Jack99
500 Command not understood
Posts: 3
Joined: 2011-09-27 13:14
Location: Germany

Re: FTP Host Header

#5 Post by Jack99 » 2011-09-28 08:53

We have enough IP adresses, but I don´t want to make thousend of port forwardings in the Firewall... That sucks!
So it will be easier with Host Headers and Microsoft is doing it right :lol:

--
With kind regards,
Jack99 :wink:

User avatar
boco
Contributor
Posts: 25282
Joined: 2006-05-01 03:28
Location: Germany

Re: FTP Host Header

#6 Post by boco » 2011-09-28 12:51

botg referred to IPv6, where NAT will be basically history.
### BEGIN SIGNATURE BLOCK ###
No support requests per PM! You will NOT get any reply!!!
FTP connection problems? Do yourself a favor and read Network Configuration.
FileZilla connection test: https://filezilla-project.org/conntest.php
### END SIGNATURE BLOCK ###

kcuk
500 Command not understood
Posts: 3
Joined: 2012-01-31 00:28
First name: Kevin
Last name: Coster

Re: FTP Host Header

#7 Post by kcuk » 2012-01-31 00:42

Maynot be supported but if you are using IIS7 or 7.5 filezilla can authenticate still against an FTP site using host headers.

depending on how your IIS setup is configured you will need to use the following:

Assumes:
IIS7 (Not SSL FTP)
IP binding * (Default any All Unassigned)
FTP Address:ftp.joe.com
FTP hostheader set to ftp.joe.com
username bloggs
Password anon

If above is all set then Filezilla setup as follows
Host: ftp.joe.com
Username:ftp.joe.com|bloggs
Password: anon

You will now login in against your FTP site according to the Host Header set in IIS

You can also go on to make other FTP sites with alternate Host Headers for different sites setup

Unless im missing peeps points on here Filezilla DOE'S support Host headers on FTP sites

User avatar
botg
Site Admin
Posts: 33177
Joined: 2004-02-23 20:49
First name: Tim
Last name: Kosse
Contact:

Re: FTP Host Header

#8 Post by botg » 2012-01-31 07:02

Unless im missing peeps points on here Filezilla DOE'S support Host headers on FTP sites
It does not.

kcuk
500 Command not understood
Posts: 3
Joined: 2012-01-31 00:28
First name: Kevin
Last name: Coster

Re: FTP Host Header

#9 Post by kcuk » 2012-01-31 07:32

How come?

Its working for me?

User avatar
boco
Contributor
Posts: 25282
Joined: 2006-05-01 03:28
Location: Germany

Re: FTP Host Header

#10 Post by boco » 2012-01-31 13:03

Coincidence. Let's express it differently: FileZilla isn't aware of the existence of host headers.
### BEGIN SIGNATURE BLOCK ###
No support requests per PM! You will NOT get any reply!!!
FTP connection problems? Do yourself a favor and read Network Configuration.
FileZilla connection test: https://filezilla-project.org/conntest.php
### END SIGNATURE BLOCK ###

kcuk
500 Command not understood
Posts: 3
Joined: 2012-01-31 00:28
First name: Kevin
Last name: Coster

Re: FTP Host Header

#11 Post by kcuk » 2012-01-31 22:37

LOL, ok but thats now not saying its not supported, it can work which is what peeps been struggling to get done.

The "work around" is what I have posted above and then you can say filezilla can atleast deal with Hostheaders

:lol:

User avatar
botg
Site Admin
Posts: 33177
Joined: 2004-02-23 20:49
First name: Tim
Last name: Kosse
Contact:

Re: FTP Host Header

#12 Post by botg » 2012-02-01 07:15

"Host headers" (a rather strange name) are implemented through the HOST command. FileZilla does not know that command and as such does not send that command.

In other words, FileZilla does neither know, nor use nor support that extension.

verbert_p
500 Command not understood
Posts: 1
Joined: 2014-10-29 18:44

Re: FTP Host Header

#13 Post by verbert_p » 2014-10-29 18:49

So, RFC7151 has been published a few months ago. (http://www.ietf.org/rfc/rfc7151.txt)
Any chance this might be implemented after all? :)

User avatar
botg
Site Admin
Posts: 33177
Joined: 2004-02-23 20:49
First name: Tim
Last name: Kosse
Contact:

Re: FTP Host Header

#14 Post by botg » 2014-10-29 23:05

I'm strongly opposed to this extension, it only adds an additional round-trip to the login sequence, slowing things further down

Due to IPv6 this feature is not needed.
Due to TLS' NSI it's not needed for FTP over TLS connections.

It's only something needed for legacy systems. And legacy systems won't even support HOST any time soon, else they wouldn't be legacy systems.

Post Reply