SFTP problem: Connection Timed Out; Could not connect to server

Need help with FileZilla Client? Something does not work as expected? In this forum you may find an answer.

Moderator: Project members

afancyanimal

SFTP problem: Connection Timed Out; Could not connect to server

#1 Post by afancyanimal » 2015-11-03 03:53

Hello,

First, I want to acknowledge that there have been posts similar to this before; however, none of their solutions worked for me. Although I'm tech savvy, this is my first time using Filezilla. I'm hoping someone can assist me, which would be greatly appreciated.

I recently bought a domain and registered it through InMotion hosting, and downloaded FileZilla to connect via SFTP. I followed their setup instructions verbatim (http://www.inmotionhosting.com/support/ ... sftp-setup), but I am getting a "Network Error: Connection timed out. Could not connect to the server." Here is what the message log says:

Connecting to afancyanimal.com:2222...
Response: fzSftp started, protocol_version=4
Command: keyfile "***.ppk"
Command: open "***@afancyanimal.com" 2222
Error: Network error: Connection timed out
Error: Could not connect to server

FileZilla is in Passive mode with the .ppk imported, and timeout is set to 60 seconds (although it times out in 20 seconds). My PC is a Windows 7 Ultimate x32 machine with Avast! antivirus, running FileZilla 3.14.1. My router/modem is a Motorola SBG6782-AC with the latest firmware. (Note: I replaced some names with *** for privacy.)

I thought it may be a firewall or anti-virus issue, so I tried the following: I am allowing all outbound traffic on Windows Firewall (my only Firewall), turned off Avast!'s web shield, and turned off my router's firewall all at the same time. This did not help. Another PC on my network has Kaspersky's security suite, and although Filezilla's "filezilla.exe" and "fzsftp.exe" were both allowed through it's firewall, I got the same connection timeout error.