IP Adress resolution failes

Need help with FileZilla Client? Something does not work as expected? In this forum you may find an answer.

Moderator: Project members

Post Reply
Message
Author
File91
500 Command not understood
Posts: 2
Joined: 2020-03-25 16:14
First name: Jonathan
Last name: Stooß

IP Adress resolution failes

#1 Post by File91 » 2020-03-25 16:26

Hi,

somehow the IP-Adress Resolution fails (IPv4).
So, I have an FTP Server on my Synology running. If I access the FTP via Filezilla with the correct IPv4-adress it works perfectly.
But if I use the servername in Filezilla, Filezilla cannot resolve the correct IP adress. Somehow Filezilla uses the IPv4 from yesterday - obviously it does not work today.

How can I help Filezilla to update/resolve the IP Adress?

Probably the solution is pretty simple, but I couldn´t find it in the forum yet.

Thanks for every hint!

User avatar
botg
Site Admin
Posts: 32718
Joined: 2004-02-23 20:49
First name: Tim
Last name: Kosse
Contact:

Re: IP Adress resolution failes

#2 Post by botg » 2020-03-25 18:30

FileZilla itself does not cache IP addresses. It asks the operating system to resolve the hostname into an IP address.

File91
500 Command not understood
Posts: 2
Joined: 2020-03-25 16:14
First name: Jonathan
Last name: Stooß

Re: IP Adress resolution failes

#3 Post by File91 » 2020-03-25 19:01

Thanks for the info.
So where might be the problem of my OS? (Windows 10)

User avatar
boco
Contributor
Posts: 24971
Joined: 2006-05-01 03:28
Location: Germany

Re: IP Adress resolution failes

#4 Post by boco » 2020-03-25 21:19

Does your router add a DNS suffix (find out with ipconfig /all)? If yes, you might need to specify it, like nasname.suffix instead of just nasname.
### BEGIN SIGNATURE BLOCK ###
No support requests per PM! You will NOT get any reply!!!
FTP connection problems? Do yourself a favor and read Network Configuration.
FileZilla connection test: https://filezilla-project.org/conntest.php
### END SIGNATURE BLOCK ###

Post Reply