fzsftp could not be started

Need help with FileZilla Client? Something does not work as expected? In this forum you may find an answer.

Moderator: Project members

Post Reply
Message
Author
onosan
500 Command not understood
Posts: 5
Joined: 2008-06-07 15:52
First name: Bjørn
Last name: Meldgaard

fzsftp could not be started

#1 Post by onosan » 2008-06-07 15:57

Hi

On a mac running OS X 10.5.3 I try to connect via sftp to my pair-account. But I constantly get the err.msg:
Status: Connecting to xxx.pair.com:22...
Error: fzsftp could not be started
Error: Could not connect to server

I'm running the latest (3.0.10) version and I have no problem connecting via 'normal' ftp or connecting via sftp vith other clients (Transmit, YummyFTP etc.)

Suggestions anyone?

User avatar
botg
Site Admin
Posts: 32616
Joined: 2004-02-23 20:49
First name: Tim
Last name: Kosse
Contact:

Re: fzsftp could not be started

#2 Post by botg » 2008-06-07 16:57

That's the full path and the name of the FileZilla app bundle?

onosan
500 Command not understood
Posts: 5
Joined: 2008-06-07 15:52
First name: Bjørn
Last name: Meldgaard

Re: fzsftp could not be started

#3 Post by onosan » 2008-06-07 19:45

err - could you pls. elaborate?!

I have installed the latest build from the downloaded dmg-file and I can easily connect to the server with normal FTP. I haven't set/changed anything. Didn't work on the version before either.

User avatar
botg
Site Admin
Posts: 32616
Joined: 2004-02-23 20:49
First name: Tim
Last name: Kosse
Contact:

Re: fzsftp could not be started

#4 Post by botg » 2008-06-07 19:57

FileZilla doesn't come in a .dmg

It's just an application bundle inside a .tar.bz2

Where did you put said bundle and what's the bundle name?

onosan
500 Command not understood
Posts: 5
Joined: 2008-06-07 15:52
First name: Bjørn
Last name: Meldgaard

Re: fzsftp could not be started

#5 Post by onosan » 2008-06-08 05:47

you are absolutely right - i must be getting old or tired :oops:

of course it directly expands to filezilla.app. I do not understand what you mean by "Where did you put said bundle and what's the bundle name?"

I dragged FileZilla.app into a subdirectory of my application folder. Just as I always do

The program starts fine and as said it perfectly connects to the same account using normal ftp on 21 its only when trying to

sftp://myserver.pair.com i get the err.msg

When I rightclick on the app, I see:

- content
Info.plist
- MacOS
filezilla
fzputtygen
fzsftp
- Resources
...
- SharedSupport
...

this is normally not something I fiddle with

User avatar
botg
Site Admin
Posts: 32616
Joined: 2004-02-23 20:49
First name: Tim
Last name: Kosse
Contact:

Re: fzsftp could not be started

#6 Post by botg » 2008-06-08 09:23

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bundle_(NE ... on_Bundles

What's the full path of your Applications directory? What's the name of FileZilla listed in your Applications directory?

onosan
500 Command not understood
Posts: 5
Joined: 2008-06-07 15:52
First name: Bjørn
Last name: Meldgaard

Re: fzsftp could not be started

#7 Post by onosan » 2008-06-08 12:02

my application directory is fully std placed in the root:

/Applications

and the app itself is placed in:

/Applications/File Tools/FileZilla.app

User avatar
botg
Site Admin
Posts: 32616
Joined: 2004-02-23 20:49
First name: Tim
Last name: Kosse
Contact:

Re: fzsftp could not be started

#8 Post by botg » 2008-06-08 12:36

It seems the space between File and Tools is the problem. I'll fix it for 3.0.11

onosan
500 Command not understood
Posts: 5
Joined: 2008-06-07 15:52
First name: Bjørn
Last name: Meldgaard

Re: fzsftp could not be started

#9 Post by onosan » 2008-06-08 13:51

tada - yes it was. Removing the space did the trick. Thanks a lot for your help !

sillyparrot
500 Command not understood
Posts: 1
Joined: 2013-05-30 18:06
First name: Alice
Last name: Wang

Re: fzsftp could not be started

#10 Post by sillyparrot » 2013-05-30 18:16

Hi, super newbie here. I'm trying to connect to a server, but it says that "fzsftp could not be started". The port is 9022, and I can connect to the server via terminal/putty with ssh. Please help. Thanks!

Post Reply